The Warrior Wins in Gisborne

Published: Mon 19 Oct 2015 09:19 AM
The Warrior Wins in Gisborne
Seven hundredths of a second was all it took for showjuming veteran Maurice Beatson to take the honours in the Equissage Horse Grand Prix at the Poverty Bay A and P Show in Gisborne today.
It was smallish field that lined up for the ‘big’ class of the show – a mixture of experience and youth duelling it out.
Just three made it through to the jump-off over the Roger Laplanche designed course. First out was Jesse Linton (Hastings) and Strathcarron Zaurak, the chestnut he co-owns with Sue Thompson. Despite a gentle nudge of the last fence, they left everything up and staked a claim on the Hikurangi Memorial Cup and Graeme and Bruce Hansen Cup, stopping the clock at 41.63 seconds.
Next out was young gun Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) and AP Ninja. She and mum Rachel Holdsworth had opted to travel from the Waikato for the 140-year-old provincial show, and it paid big dividends for them. The 16-year-old won both the Telford Junior Rider and Canterbury Equestrian Young Rider classes, but she in the big league in the grand prix.
However, the talented young jockey rode a great jump-off, finishing with four faults in 43.38 after taking a rail mid course.
Former Olympian and World Cup representative Beatson (Dannevirke) can never be underestimated, and he came out flying aboard the big grey home-bred horse Schimmel Warrior.
They took the class in 41.56, thanks to an inside turn midway through the course.
Beatson was rapt.
“Schimmel hasn’t won a grand prix for a while,” he said, “so this is great. It was his day I guess.”
It has been a good show for Beatson and his partner Sally Clark – Beatson won both 1.4m classes with Schimmel’s half brother Mandalay Cove, and Clark won the 1.2m aboard Victoria’s Secret.
All seven of the horses in their truck headed home with at least a single ribbon.
“This is a great show,” says Beatson, who has been making the trip to Gisborne for more years than he cares to count.
“It’s always nice weather, good grounds and fabulous facilities – and it’s the perfect run-up for Hastings and the opening World Cup round.
Leeshelle Small (Auckland) and Tallyho Bandit won the Country TV Open Pony Grand Prix ahead of local hope Sinead Dolman and Strawberry Fields.
Results -
Equissage Horse Grand Prix: Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Schimmel Warrior 1, Jesse Linton (Hastings) Strathcarron Zaurak 2, Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) AP Ninja 3, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Conyers 4, Daniel Blundell (Ocean Beach) Romeo NZPH 5, Paula Mussen (Auckland) KK Tane Mahuta 6.
Caledonian Amateur Rider Series: Jenny Tombleson (Gisborne) Nero Bello 1, Catherine Fawcett-McNaughton (Pukekohe) Meersbrook Flintstone 2, Caroline Sutherland (Whakatane) Letty 3, Rachel Martin (Hawke’s Bay) Finnesse 4, Caroline Parkes (Wairoa) Pakarae Lass 5, Glen Hicks (Hastings) Weiti Aubergine 6.
Telford Junior Rider Series: Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) Wasabi 1, Will Moffett (Napier) Centrico 2, Matt Irvine (Takapau) Oscar Star 3, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Cloud 9 4, Sarah McKinnon (Wairoa) Matilda II 5, Sam Spence (Gisborne) Driving Ambition 6. Junior rider equitation: Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) Wasabi 1, Will Moffett (Napier) Centrico 2, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Double J Cloud 9 3, Matt Irvine (Takapau) Oscar Star 4, Sarah McKinnon (Wairoa) Matilda II 5, Sam Spence (Gisborne) Driving Ambition 6.
Canterbury Equestrian Young Rider Series: Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) Yandoo Lady Gold 1, Rebecca Porter (Napier) Kiwi Jet 2, Larina Dolman (Gisborne) Kiwi Lansing 3, Georgia Massie (Dannevirke) Kiwi Ironheart 4, Matt Irvine (Takapau) Lansbury Grosve 5, Emily Hayward-Morgan (Te Awamutu) AP Ninja 6.
Country TV Open Pony Grand Prix: Leeshelle Small (Auckland) Tallyho Bandit 1, Sinead Dolman (Gisborne) Strawberry Fields 2.
ESNZ Seven Year Old Series: Jesse Linton (Hastings) Kiwi Doll 1, Caroline Parkes (Wairoa) Peggy Blue 2, Maurice Beatson (Dannevirke) Radiant 3, Helen Kippen (Ocean Beach) Velocity NZPH 4, Tom Tarver (Kawerau) Fiesta MVNZ 5, Caroline Kennedy (Ohaupo) Smoken Up 6.
Mitavite Six Year Old Series: Melissa Marriner (Auckland) Big Bird, Jenny Tombleson (Gisborne) Nero Bello and Rachel Martin (Hawke’s Bay) Finnesse =1.
East Coast Performance Horses Five Year Old Series: Helen Kippen (Ocean Beach) Bandito NZPH and Dani Maurer (Auckland) Le Bam =1.
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media