The Kudos Awards 2018 Finalists Announced

Published: Mon 6 Aug 2018 10:36 AM
5th August 2018
The Kudos Awards 2018 Finalists Announced
Finalists in Hamilton and Waikato’s prestigious regional science excellence awards “The Kudos Awards” were announced on Friday.
The Kudos Awards recognise and celebrate the region’s scientists, their innovative research and groundbreaking discoveries. Winners in eight science categories will be announced at the black tie gala dinner on Thursday 27th September. Hosted by local favourite Te Radar and featuring the Prime Minister’s new Chief Science Adviser Professor Juliet Gerrard as guest speaker, this is the region’s annual science celebration.
Waikato’s science and technology sector is thriving and boasts the highest proportion of scientists and technicians in New Zealand. They are major contributors to the region and country’s economy, leading the way in agricultural, medical and environmental science.
Scientists, educators, lab technicians and engineers from some of the region’s science powerhouses will be represented this year including the University of Waikato, Fonterra, Plant & Food Research, LIC, NIWA, Landcare Research and the Waikato DHB.
The Kudos Awards 2018 Finalists are:
Hamilton City Council Emerging Scientist
Dr Richard Bulmer, NIWA
Dr Brendan Gill, Fonterra
WINTEC Secondary Science Teacher/Educator Award
Andrea Soanes, University of Waikato
Jared Carpendale, Hamilton Boys High School
Hill Laboratories Laboratory Technician Award
Sarah Hailes, NIWA
Kathleen Dabell, University of Waikato
Brett Nichol, University of Waikato
Simcro Engineering Science Award
Dr Aydin Berenjian & Dr Mostafa Seifan, University of Waikato
Dr James K. Carson, University of Waikato
Kudos Science Trust Agricultural Science Award
LIC Space Team, LIC
Ruakura Plant Pathology Team, Plant & Food Research
Waikato Regional Council Environmental Science Award
Te Kuwaha o Taihoro Nukurangi (National Centre of Maori Environmental Research) NIWA
Dr Corrine Watts, Landcare Research
Waikato DHB Medical Science Award
Dr Tim Edwards, University of Waikato
Dr Jonni Koia, University of Waikato
Dr Michael Kaplan, Waikato DHB
University of Waikato Lifetime Achievement Award
Announced at the Kudos Awards Gala Dinner
The Kudos Awards Gala Dinner is open to the public and aims to profile the success of science in the region, and attract more students to science career paths. Tickets can be purchased at:
For more information visit:
- END -

Next in Business, Science, and Tech

Next steps for Auckland light rail
By: New Zealand Government
Gender pay gap unchanged since 2017
By: Statistics New Zealand
Stuff pulls pin on media companies' joint ad-buying business
By: BusinessDesk
Transdev to Acquire Auckland And Wellington Bus Businesses
By: Transdev
Twyford's choice: NZTA or Super Fund for Auckland light rail
By: BusinessDesk
A whole term of Government with no shovels in the ground
By: New Zealand National Party
Transport Agency welcomes next steps for light rail
Light rail delay creates highway opportunities
By: Automobile Association
Government taking action to close gender pay gap
By: New Zealand Government
Genter delaying pay equity for publicity stunt
By: New Zealand National Party
Gender Pay Imbalance - call for PM to take action
By: New Zealand Council of Trade Unions
Persistent gender pay gap - need for Govt to move faster
By: NZEI Te Riu Roa
Opportunity to fix the gender pay gap in tertiary sector
By: Tertiary Education Union
Government must take the handbrakes off, deliver equal pay
By: Public Service Association
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media