Commonwealth Navies Rugby Tournament

Published: Wed 7 May 2003 08:24 AM
Commonwealth Navies Rugby Tournament (Racal Cup) At Devonport Naval Base
The Commonwealth Navies Rugby Cup 2003 tournament (RACAL Cup) will be hosted by the Royal New Zealand Navy (RNZN) at the Devonport Naval Base 9-18 May 2003 inclusive. Rugby teams from the Royal Navy (RN), Royal Australian Navy (RAN) and the Royal New Zealand Navy (RNZN) will contest the RACAL Cup in a Round Robin Tournament held at Ngataringa Sports Complex.
In 1996 the RN invited the RNZN Rugby Team to tour the United Kingdom in 1997 as their guests. Coincidentally in that same year, the RAN also had planned to conduct a rugby tour of the United Kingdom and a decision was made to hold a “Tri-Navies” Rugby Tournament. The touring teams also played against the British Army and the Royal Air Force. All participants declared the tournament a huge success and it was agreed that a tournament should be held every three years hosted in rotation order of the United Kingdom, Australia and New Zealand.
RACAL, a British Defence Industry Company, was approached and generously agreed to donate a trophy to the tournament to be known as the RACAL Cup. This is the trophy that the three navies now compete for. The RN won the inaugural tournament in 1997 and also the RAN hosted tournament in Sydney in 2000.
In 2003 it is the RNZN’s turn to host the tournament and following discussions with the RAN and RN, it was agreed to extend an invitation to the Republic of South African Navy (RSAN) to attend the tournament. Unfortunately, the RSAN declined to send a team to the 2003 tournament but have indicated they may be in a position to sponsor the 2006 tournament. The RSAN have sent two observers to this year’s tournament.
Dates of Tournaments
Mon 12 May 2:30pm RAN v RNZN Wed 14 May 2:30pm RN v RAN Fri 16 May 2:30pm RNZN v RN
Media Invitation
A Powhiri will be held on Saturday, 9 May at 0900 at the Te Taua Moana Marae to welcome the visiting rugby teams. All media are welcome to attend the Powhiri and the games.
The Deputy Chief of Navy, Commodore David Anson, RNZN will officially welcome the players to New Zealand on completion of the Powhiri and players will be available for interviews.
Representatives from the media wishing to attend are to contact the Base Public Relations Officer.
For further enquiries regarding the tournament, please contact the Base Public Relations Officer, Lieutenant Commander Andrew Lincoln, RNZN 09 445 5002 or 021-806 926
Entry is via Mozeley Ave, Jim Titchener Pde, Devonport. The Te Taua Moana Marae is located adjacent to the Ngataringa Sports Complex.

Next in New Zealand politics

Just 1 In 6 Oppose ‘Three Strikes’ - Poll
By: Family First New Zealand
Budget Blunder Shows Nicola Willis Could Cut Recovery Funding
By: New Zealand Labour Party
Urgent Changes To System Through First RMA Amendment Bill
By: New Zealand Government
Global Military Spending Increase Threatens Humanity And The Planet
By: Peace Movement Aotearoa
Government To Introduce Revised Three Strikes Law
By: New Zealand Government
Environmental Protection Vital, Not ‘Onerous’
By: New Zealand Labour Party
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media