INDEPENDENT NEWS

Media Advisory: National GE Free Day

Published: Thu 4 Oct 2001 02:20 PM
Coalition for a GE-Free Environment Aotearoa New Zealand
Media Advisory
National GE Free Day, Saturday, October 6 - 20 centres around the Country
In 20 locations around the country, events have been organised for National GE Free Day October 6.
In many centres, people will be able to sign up to the NZ GE Free Register, a Northland- run project that invites people to register their homes, farms or businesses as GE Free. (http://www.gefreeregister.co.nz).
Centres will also be making banners to be joined as part of a giant national GE Free banner that will wrap the Beehive in mid-October.
At noon, Auckland Town Hall will be wrapped with a banner of signatures from thousands of Aucklanders.
At Civic Square in Wellington, where the longest GE Free sandwich is going to be served, Wellington people will have a choice of action to take for GE Free (such as joining newspaper pledge, signing a GE Free Wellington City petition).
In Dunedin, Mayor Sukhi Turner will address a rally in the Octagon.
The Government has said it will make its decision on New Zealand's GE Free status by October 31.
- A list of local spokespeople for the Day follows -
For further details:
Stephanie Howard, Coalition for a GE Free Environment Aotearoa New Zealand, tel: 025 687 1515
http://www.gefree.net.nz
Local spokespeople National GE Free Day
GE Free Hikoi. GE Free Land March Currently Underway
(October 1- 31)
Kei Munro: k-munro@xtra.co.nz. Tel: 025 604 5872
AUCKLAND. Jon Carapiet: (09) 815 3370. Email:
youcangetmeonline@yahoo.com
CHRISTCHURCH
Liffey Domain Rally
Tremane Barr: (03) 981 5235. email:
tremane.barr@clear.net.nz
Kevin Withell: (03) 6628. Email:
k.withell@paradise.net.nz
Southern Seed Exchange.
Fraser Palmer-Hesketh: (03) 303 0712. Email:
daisymeadow108@hotmail.com
DUNEDIN. Duncan Eddie: 025 719 139. Email:
gefreedunedin@yahoo.com
GERALDINE. Debbie Martin: (03) 693 9001. Email:
debbiemartin@xtra.co.nz
HAMILTON. Ravaani Ghaemmaghamy (07) 839 6299 Email:
ravaani@xtra.co.nz
Gary Clarkson: (07) 853 7122. Email:
Gary.Clarkson@greens.org.nz
HOROWHENUA. Jill Brown: (06)368-4451. Email:
jillb@inspire.net.nz
NAPIER-HASTINGS. Hastings: Liz Earth: (06) 875 1234.
Napier: Odile Balas, (06) 835 0141, Email
odile@xtra.co.nz
NELSON. Sigi Kirchmair: 03-547 9383; mobile 021 139
1554
PALMERSTON NORTH. Anna McKnight: (06) 353 0809. Email:
gefreepalmy@yahoo.co.uk
QUEENSTOWN. Contact: Tobi Bryant: (03) 442 0131.
Email: y2klover@hotmail.com
TAKAKA. Joanna Piekarski: (03) 525 8448. Email:
rojoanna@ihug.co.nz
TAUPO. Megan Marshall: (07) 378 8801 (pm). Email:
gbwhitby@xtra.co.nz
TAURANGA. Rose Webber: (07) 578 4388. Email:
r.webber@xtra.co.nz
TE AWAMUTU/CAMBRIDGE. Steve Lee & Carolyn Padman:(07)
871 5618
WAIHI. Ruth and Stephen Benner: (07) 863 8600 or 021
500 977
WAIPAWA/WAIPUKURAU. Warwick Mather: (06) 857 8080.
Email: mountview@paradise.net.nz
WAIRARAPA. Claire Bleakley: (06) 3089842. Email:
f.bleakley@xtra.co.nz
WANGANUI. Anna Wilson: 025 519 300. Email:
annawilson@xtra.co.nz
WELLINGTON. Edwin Dando: 021 1652 669. Email:
capitalgefreenz@yahoo.co.nz
WHANGAREI. Zelka Grammer: 09 4322155. Email:
arboreus@ihug.co.nz
For the GE Free Register: Contact Chris Bone tel: 09
438 8649 or view at http://www.gefreeregister.co.nz

Next in New Zealand politics

Public Input Sought To Inform Privacy Rules For Biometrics
By: Office of the Privacy Commissioner
Food Prices Climb Taking Kiwis Backwards
By: New Zealand National Party
Have Your Say On The Future Of Inter-regional Passenger Rail In New Zealand
By: Transport and Infrastructure Committee
Creating Sustainable Public Transport For All
By: New Zealand Government
Tax Break To Boost Long-term Rental Supply
By: New Zealand Government
NZ Migrant Arrivals Hit Lowest Mark Since 1990s
By: New Zealand National Party
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media