Appointments to Waitangi Tribunal

Published: Mon 15 Sep 2014 09:16 AM
Appointments to Waitangi Tribunal
Māori Affairs Minister Hon Dr Pita Sharples today announced the appointment of four new members and reappointment of seven members to the Waitangi Tribunal.
All the positions are short-term appointments of 12 months to allow for the general election to take place and a new government to form.
New appointments to the Waitangi Tribunal are:
· Dr Angela Ballara
· Tureiti Moxon
· David Cochrane and
· Erima Henare.
Reappointments to the Waitangi Tribunal are:
· Tania Simpson
· Dr Aroha Harris
· William Te Ranguia (Pou) Temara
· Dr Monty Soutar
· Kihi Ngatai, QSM
· Basil Morrison and
· Ronald Crosby.
Dr Sharples also announced the reappointment of Chief Judge Wilson Isaac as the Chairperson of the Waitangi Tribunal.
“Chief Judge Isaac has exhibited the ability to maintain the confidence of key groups through the Tribunal process and I am confident he will continue to do this as he leads the Waitangi Tribunal’s work programme,” Dr Sharples said.
“My warmest congratulations to all new and reappointed members. I am confident that they will work together well and provide stability and continuity to support the Tribunal with its work programme.”

Next in New Zealand politics

Grant Robertson To Retire From Parliament
By: New Zealand Labour Party
Budget Will Be Delivered On 30 May
By: New Zealand Government
New Zealand Provides Further Humanitarian Support To Gaza And The West Bank
By: New Zealand Government
High Court Judge Appointed
By: New Zealand Government
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media