Electrical Workers Registration Board Appointments

Published: Fri 7 Sep 2012 02:58 PM
Hon Maurice Williamson
Minister of Building and Construction
7 September 2012 Media Statement
Minister announces four appointments to
Electrical Workers Registration Board
Building and Construction Minister Maurice Williamson has announced the re-appointment of two members to the Electrical Workers Registration Board, Neil McLeod and Shane Dolan, and the appointment of two new members, Melbourne Orange and William Waterworth.
The Minister would like to thank outgoing members David Bradshaw, and Eddie Eeles for their valuable contributions to the Board.
Mr Orange has been appointed for a three-year term and replaces Mr Bradshaw whose term ended on 1 July 2012. Mr Waterworth has been appointed for a two-year term and will replace Mr Eeles when his term ends on 30 November 2012.
Mr Dolan’s term will be extended for a further three years from 24 October 2012. Mr McLeod’s term has been extended for a further two years from 1 July 2012.
Mr McLeod is a self-employed electrical contractor, a member of the Board since 2009 and a former councillor of the Whangarei District Council for seven years.
“Mr McLeod brings a wealth of experience and skill to the Board,” says Mr Williamson.
A Board member since 2010, Mr Dolan is a Registered Line Mechanic with over 20 years’ experience in the electricity industry in both line mechanic and management roles.
“Mr Dolan introduced a number of initiatives to streamline the work of the Board and to up-skill members in performing their duties,” says Mr Williamson.
Mr Orange has held a number of senior management positions with Meridian Energy as well as two industry-related board roles. He is a self-employed barrister and solicitor from Christchurch who works in the energy, electrical and construction industries.
“As the former Presiding Member for the Electrical Workers Complaints Assessment Committee he brings practical and proactive experience to the Board,” says Mr Williamson.
Mr Waterworth is a registered electrical services technician from Auckland and has been a trustee and Chair of the Shelly Park Board of Trustees. He holds a BSc and Supplementary Radio Technicians Certificate as well as a New Zealand Certificate of Engineering.
“Mr Waterworth’s practical expertise will prove valuable to the Board,” says Mr Williamson.
The Electrical Workers Registration Board was established under section 148 of the Electricity Act 1992. The Board’s main functions are to register electrical workers and ensure competency of those workers in order to guarantee public safety.
Members are appointed by the Minister for Building and Construction. Each period of appointment may be for up to three years. Members may remain in office despite the expiry of their term.
Under section 150 of the Act, the Board comprises four persons who are registered or entitled to be registered under the Act; and three other persons, of whom at least one must be a person the Minister considers has appropriate electrical industry qualifications or experience.

Next in New Zealand politics

Peters Issues Judicial Review Proceedings
By: Rt Hon Winston Peters
Electoral Changes Will Bring Greater Transparency For Voters
By: New Zealand Government
Mōuri Whenua, Mōuri Tangata, Mōuri Ora: Parliament’s Grounds Fully Reopened
By: Parliamentary Service
Charles CHOGM Speech Green Light For Change
By: New Zealand Republic
Goodfellow To Retire As National Party President
By: New Zealand National Party
Parliament Occupation Investigators Seek Public Assistance
By: New Zealand Police
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media