Research excellence decision committee balanced

Published: Thu 20 Dec 2001 10:25 AM
19 December 2001 Media Statement
Research excellence decision committee well balanced
The broad make-up of the committee which will decide who gets a share of the government’s new Centres of Research Excellence fund has been welcomed by Associate Education (Tertiary Education) Minister Steve Maharey.
The CoRE Fund was established in the Budget to establish specialist centres of research excellence which will operate at the leading edge of their field within the international research community. Operating expenditure of $40.6m over four years, and one-off capital funding of $20m for investment in strategic research assets this financial year, has been allocated for the fund which is being managed by the Royal Society of New Zealand. Forty-five applications for funding have been received.
Steve Maharey said the calibre of those appointed to the decision committee will ensure that the CoRE fund meets its aims to foster world class research focused on New Zealand’s future economic and social development.
“Research is fundamental to developing New Zealand as a knowledge society. The CoRE Fund is designed to encourage greater concentration and networking of high quality specialised research resources in the tertiary sector.
“To be successful, applications will have to demonstrate that they will support research that is of excellent (world class) quality, focused on New Zealand’s future economic and social development and that will lead to the transfer of knowledge.
“The decision committee brings together eminent New Zealanders from Maoridom, the research community and the tertiary education sector.
“It is expected that between three and six centres will receive funding in the first round. The successful candidates will be announced in early March,” Steve Maharey said.
Attached is a list of the Centres of Research Excellence decision committee.
Centres of Research Excellence (CoRE) decision committee
- Sir Paul Reeves, Professor, Auckland University of Technology (Chair)
- Dr Michael Dunbier, former CEO, Crop and Food Research
- Dr Jean Fleming, University of Otago, and Member of the Royal Commission on Genetic Modification
- Dr John Hay, CEO, Environmental Science and Research Ltd. (ESR)
- Associate Professor Alison Jones, Acting Pro-Vice Chancellor, University of Auckland
- Associate Professor Pare Keiha, Dean of Maori Development, Auckland University of Technology
- Ms Aroha Te Pareake Mead, Policy Principal, Te Puni Kokiri
- Sir Neil Waters, former Vice-Chancellor, Massey University
- Dr Andrew West, Chair, Transition Tertiary Education Commission
- Mr Bryce Whitcher, Deputy Chairman, Forest Research

Next in New Zealand politics

Human Rights Commission Urges Government To Heed HDC Report Ahead Of Royal Commission Findings
By: Human Rights Commission
Pacific Futures - Winston Peters' Speech Delivered At The International House Of Japan, Tokyo
By: New Zealand Government
Climate Change Minister To Attend Climate Action Meeting In China
By: New Zealand Government
PHINZ Opposes Insulation Standards Rollback, Advocates For Effective Building Standards
By: Passive House Institute New Zealand
Fonterra Exposed As Major Player In Global Attempts To Undermine Climate Action
By: Greenpeace
Hundreds Expected At Napier March For Nature
By: Papatuanuku Rising
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media