Health & Safety Achievers Make The Finals

Published: Tue 10 Apr 2007 03:32 PM
Health & Safety Achievers Make The Finals
Finalists have now been announced for The New Zealand Workplace Health & Safety Awards, organized by Safeguard magazine in association with the Department of Labour.
The judging panel – Dr Geraint Emrys from the Department of Labour, Ceri Davies from ACC, Karen Fletcher from the Council of Trade Unions, last year’s OHS practitioner of the year, Buddy Chaffey from Carter Holt Harvey, and Jackie Brown-Haysom from Safeguard – says the 100-plus entries received for this year’s competition maintains the high standard that has been established in previous years.
The winners in each of the ten award categories, and the overall winner, will be announced at a gala dinner at Auckland’s SkyCity Convention Centre on Tuesday May 1.
The category finalists (in alphabetical order) are:
The category finalists (in alphabetical order) are:
Department of Labour best productivity gain from a health and safety initiative.
 Fletcher Construction, Auckland.
 O-I New Zealand, Auckland.
EBOS/Ansell best initiative to address an occupational health hazard.
 EnviroWaste Services Ltd, Auckland.
 Horizon2, Whakatane.
 Ministry Agriculture & Forestry Quarantine, Christchurch Airport.
OfficeMax best initiative to improve employee wellness.
 Coca Cola Amatil NZ Ltd, Auckland.
 O-I New Zealand, Auckland.
 Recreational Services, Auckland.
Air New Zealand best system to encourage employee participation in health and safety.
 Alcan Packaging Danaflex, Wellington.
 Palmerston North City Council.
SICK best design or technology initiative.
 Bay of Plenty District Health Board, Tauranga.
 Collins Corporation Ltd, Napier.
 Hutch Design, Inglewood.
 Wedgelock Equipment Ltd, Upper Hutt.
NZ Safety best health and safety initiative by a small business.
 Famous Fish Music Ltd, Auckland.
 Karl Boniface Plumbing, Invercargill.
ACC ThinkSafe best leadership of an industry sector or region.
 Hawkins Construction Ltd, Auckland.
 Manukau City Council, Auckland.
 New Zealand Chemical Industry Council, Wellington.
 Otago University Students’ Association, Dunedin.
 Roading New Zealand, Wellington.
Air New Zealand best initiative to promote or communicate and improved safety culture.
- Metrowater Ltd, Auckland.
- Recreational Services, Auckland.
- Ribbonwood Yarding Systems, Tokoroa.
Safeguard health and safety practitioner of the year.
- Peter Kiely, Hawkins Construction, Auckland.
- Brendan Lenihan, Karl Boniface Plumbing Ltd, Invercargill.
- Fran O’Keefe, O-I New Zealand, Auckland.
NZCTU most influential employee.
- Jan Dunn, Ministry of Social Development, Christchurch.
- Ricky Dunstan, NZ Steel Hollow Section, Waiuku.
- Yohan Theodore, O-I New Zealand, Auckland.
Awards are presented at the prestigious Gala Dinner on 01 May 2007 at the SKYCITY Convention Centre, in Auckland.

Next in Lifestyle

Don't Miss the 2019 New Zealand Jazz Gala Tour
By: Rodger Fox Big Band
Te Papa acquires rare painting of Cook's voyage
By: Te Papa
Resene Eighth Annual Architecture & Design Film Festival
By: Resene Architecture And Design Film Festival
‘Urgently Relevant’ Novel Wins NZ’s Richest Literary Award
By: Ockham Book Awards
Feast your eyes on the full Comedy Fest programme
By: Comedy Festival
Top prize for Hudson & Halls book
By: Otago University Press
Urzila Carlson announces new Auckland date
By: Live Nation Entertainment
Ed Byrne fires up the millennials
By: Elephant Publicity
Kiwis To Be Bitten By Wolf's Comedy For First Time
By: Elephant Publicity
Comedians Steve Martin And Martin Short Announce One NZ Show
By: Blackout Music Management
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media