STEM Programme For Māori Learners Wins National Diversity Award

Published: Thu 1 Sep 2022 05:20 AM
A programme that’s addressing inequitable access for Māori learners to science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) subjects, creating positive generational impact for Māori, has won a national diversity award.
Pūhoro STEMM Academy (extra M for Mātauranga) took out the Supreme Award at the 2022 Diversity Awards NZ™ announced in Auckland tonight.
“This is a by-Māori-for-Māori organisation that is delivering a programme in 48 schools throughout the country and supporting 1500 young Māori to actively pursue STEM pathways,” says Diversity Works New Zealand Chief Executive Maretha Smit.
“The mahi Pūhoro do will address the disproportionate under-representation of Māori in science. Māori make up less than two per cent of the scientific workforce, and Māori and Pacific youth, more than any other population group, are streamed out of science education early in secondary school.”
The judges were impressed by Pūhoro’s commitment to ensuring te ao Māori, tikanga and core Māori values are woven into the heart of the organisation.
“By applying a Māori perspective to everything they do, they can support their people and their learners through a te ao Māori lens.
“It’s a great example of how science and mātauranga Māori integrate and complement each other. They need not stand in competition.”
Pūhoro is also helping the organisations it partners with to be better workplaces for Māori by ensuring they are rangatahi ready and can support interns in a culturally appropriate way, Smit says.
Pūhoro STEMM Academy was also the Small-Medium Organisation Winner in the Ngā Āhuatanga o te Tiriti category at the awards.
This year was the 25th anniversary of the Diversity Awards NZ™ programme, which offers organisations an opportunity to showcase a variety of innovative people initiatives and publicly commit to being held accountable for tangible progress in building work environments where everybody is safe to bring the best version of themselves.
Here is a full list of 2022 winners:
Supreme Award
Winner: Pūhoro STEMM Academy
Leadership Award
Small-Medium Organisation Winner – Yellow
Medium-Large Organisation Winner – New Zealand Intelligence Community
Medium-Large Organisation Highly Commended – Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission
Diverse Talent Award
Small-Medium Organisation Winner – Deaf Aotearoa
Medium-Large Organisation Winner – KPMG
Inclusive Workplace Award
Medium-Large Organisation Winner – HEB Construction
Medium-Large Organisation Highly Commended – Ministry of Social Development Te Manatū Whakahiato Ora
Medium-Large Organisation Highly Commended – Education Perfect
Small-Medium Organisation Highly Commended – Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Ngā Āhuatanga o te Tiriti Tohu
Small-Medium Organisation Winner – Pūhoro STEMM Academy
Medium-Large Organisation Winner – Otago Polytechnic Ltd
Impact Award
Winner: Upskills
Diversity Champion
Winner: Dellwyn Stuart, YWCA Auckland

Next in Lifestyle

Early Childhood Teachers’ Union Calls For Stop To Sector Regulatory Review
By: NZEI Te Riu Roa
New Zealand To Be Represented By 195 Athletes At Paris 2024
Grok's Coding Challenge Now Free For All Aotearoa New Zealand Students
By: Grok Academy
A Call For Strong Leadership To Reduce NZ’s Dangerously High Antibiotic Use
By: Public Health Communication Centre
Disabled Artists’ Theatre Festival 2024
By: Disabled Artists Festival of Theatre
Announcing The Winner Of The 2024 Michael Gifkins Prize
By: New Zealand Society of Authors
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media