SLSNZ Announces Finalists For The Otago & Southland Awards Of Excellence

Published: Mon 13 May 2024 12:36 PM
The finalists for Surf Life Saving New Zealand’s (SLSNZ) Otago and Southland Awards of Excellence have been announced.
These awards not only acknowledge the incredible skills, commitment, and effort by surf lifeguards to ensure the safety of beachgoers, but also those who have educated others, managed administration, and participated in lifesaving sport throughout the 2023/2024 season.
Stu Bryce, SLSNZ Southern Regional Manager said, “It’s been a fantastic season in the deep south with plenty of sunny weather. This combined with beachgoers paying attention to our safety messages has resulted in fewer rescues compared to last season. However, this didn’t mean our surf lifeguards and clubs weren’t busy. They were involved in a number of challenging rescues and worked hard to ensure they were available to their communities when needed.”
The Otago and Southland Awards of Excellence will bring together Surf Life Saving clubs from across the South Island, including Warrington, St Kilda, St Clair, Brighton, Kaka Point, and Oreti.
Bryce said, “We’re looking forward to a night out with all the clubs and their members. There are so many great moments to celebrate and reminisce on. One event that stands out is the bp Surf Rescue New Zealand Championships which were held on Otago’s Waikouaiti Beach. With blue sky and around two feet of surf, conditions were perfect, and it was great to see so many SLSNZ members enjoying some southern hospitality in a beautiful part of the country.”
During the 2023/2024 season, Otago and Southland surf lifeguards spent over 10,900 hours on patrol, rescued 37 people, performed over 30 first aids, and carried out over 930 preventative actions.
This year’s awards ceremony will take place on Friday, 17 May at 6pm at the Edgar Centre in Dunedin.
Full list of finalists:
Surf Sports Official of the YearDave BourkeSt KildaDoug HendersonKaka PointMark FamiltonWarringtonRebecca AburnSt ClairSean DoyleWarrington
Event Safety Contribution of the YearDave ClarkeBrightonLara TyndallSt ClairMichael ThompsonSt KildaPaul GagerWarrington
Coach of the YearIsaac DaviesSt ClairJoel DaviesSt ClairNevan TrotterBrightonPeter GibbonsSt KildaKen McHoullWarrington
Surf Sports Team of the YearBrighton Masters IRB TeamBrightonSt Clair U19 Female IRB TeamSt ClairSt Kilda Open Female IRB TeamSt KildaWarrington Open Female Canoe TeamWarrington
Junior Surf Contribution of the YearIsabella Aldrich & Madelene OzanneWarringtonJon RichardsonSt ClairMax SkerrattBrightonRichard PantingSt Kilda
Junior Surf Coach of the YearIsaac DaviesSt ClairJavara ClarkBrightonMaaike DuncanWarringtonRosie FalcousSt Clair
Surf Sportsperson of the YearCharlotte AburnSt ClairConnor AldrichWarringtonDanyon NoakesSt KildaJamie BlairBrighton
bp Powercraft Contribution of the YearChris ChittockKaka PointDave ClarkeBrightonMatthew BradleySt ClairPaul GagerWarrington
bp Search and Rescue Contribution of the YearMax CorboySt KildaNiam ChronicanSt Clair
Instructor of the YearChris HaigSt ClairFiona WilkinsonKaka PointGabby TrotterBrightonMadelene OzanneWarringtonMadi LoudonSt Kilda
Examiner of the YearCarla MurraySt Clair/Kaka Point
bp Rescue of the YearOtago SAR Squad31 January 2024St Kilda15 February 2024
Rookie Lifeguard of the YearBelinda McLellanSt ClairFergus LawsWarringtonHarry BoyleWarringtonSteve KahuiBrighton
DHL U19 Lifeguard of the YearLiam O’Riordan LawlorKaka PointMatilda DunnBrightonSam McLellanSt ClairSophie BoyleWarringtonZoe AliboneSt Kilda
DHL Patrol Support of the YearGregor CrystalSt KildaTeena JoyceBrighton
DHL Surf Lifeguards of the YearAedan DinnissenBrightonMadelene OzanneWarringtonMadi LoudonSt KildaSam McLellanSt ClairSarah ChittockKaka Point
NZ Lottery Grants Board Volunteer of the YearFiona WilkinsonKaka PointIsaac DaviesSt ClairJody MowatSt KildaMaaike DuncanWarringtonMark LaneBrighton
Innovation AwardOreti SLSCPatrol Caravan

Next in Lifestyle

Heritage Group Calls For Release Of Promised $250,000 Grant
By: Maia Hart - Local Democracy Reporter
Youth Want Tighter Vaping Controls
By: Asthma and Respiratory Foundation of New Zealand
Managing Muscle Soreness In A Post-Epidemic Gym Landscape
By: ExerciseNZ
Kiwi Student Helps Tongan Community Improve Drinking Water
By: University of Canterbury
Thousands Of Chocolate Lovers Gearing Up For Chocstock
By: Chocstock
The NZ Art Show Draws Record Crowds : A Cherished And Celebrated Event – 21 Years!
By: NZ Art Show
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media