Finalists Revealed For 2021 Forsyth Barr Bay Of Plenty Sports Awards

Published: Thu 28 Oct 2021 07:16 PM
Over 40 finalists have been announced for the 2021 Forsyth Barr Bay of Plenty Sports Awards, including junior athletes, Olympians and Paralympians, coaches and community organisations.
For the first time in its 50 year history, the awards were cancelled in 2020 due to COVID-19 disruptions, but will resume this year as an online event in response to the latest COVID-19 outbreak.
Seventy nominations were received for 13 award categories including four new categories to recognise disabled athletes and community organisations.
Among the individual finalists for the 2021 Forsyth Barr Bay of Plenty Sports Awards are gold medallists Lisa Carrington and Lisa Adams, triathlete Hayden Wilde, CrossFit Games athlete Hiko-o-te-rangi Curtis, swimmer Bailey Conlon and rising athletics star Hannah Gapes.
Finalists in the open team category include Mount Maunganui Rugby Club Womens’ who took out this year’s Baywide Women’s Club Premiership. They go up against Upper Central Rugby League Stallions, Tauranga City Athletic Football Club Womens’ and Bay of Plenty Senior Mens’ Volleyball who are all vying for the Team of the Year honour.
Four-time Official of the Year winner Kelly Hudson from hockey and 2018 winner Greg Rieger from surf life saving once again make their mark in the Official of the Year category alongside Joanie Coles from netball.
The new award categories of Community Organisation of the Year and Innovation in Sport and Recreation feature several community clubs and groups that have worked tirelessly over the last 12 months to deliver great physical activity opportunities across the Bay of Plenty.
This year leading investment services firm Forsyth Barr has joined the Bay of Plenty Sports Awards as naming rights sponsor.
Tauranga branch manager David McConnochie said Forsyth Barr is excited to have the opportunity to support and celebrate schools, clubs and community organisations for everything they have achieved in the 2021-22 nomination period.
"Congratulations to all nominees and finalists of the 2021 Forsyth Barr Bay of Plenty Sports Awards. Their achievements are an inspiration to us all and testament to the Bay's strong and passionate sport and recreation community. We look forward to celebrating those achievements on November 19."
2021 Sports Awards goes online
On Friday, 19 November, the Bay of Plenty community will have the opportunity to come together virtually and celebrate all aspects of sport and recreation from grassroots volunteers through to elite athletes.
Sport Bay of Plenty will play host to the online celebration alongside MCs Philly Angus from Rotorua and former Olympian Sarah Cowley-Ross.
Sport Bay of Plenty sport manager Nick Chambers said the awards are an important recognition of our region’s achievements and resilience over a challenging period.
“Over the last 18 months we’ve had to contend with disrupted seasons, limited or cancelled events and the upending of competition formats. Despite the chaos, though, athletes, volunteers, clubs and organisations have managed to find a way forward and achieve great things on the local and international stage,” Chambers said.
“COVID-19 has also forced us to rethink how we deliver the awards, but we’re thrilled to still be able to honour and celebrate the incredible achievement of the Bay’s sport and recreation community.”
The 2021 Forsyth Barr Bay of Plenty Sports Awards will be live and online from 5:30pm on Friday, 19 November. Tune in, and find out more about this year’s finalists, by visiting
A list of all finalists is attached and below.Holland Beckett Law Sportswoman of the YearLisa CarringtonKayakingSamantha WindersNetballStacey FluhlerRugby sevensRobin GoomesMountain bikingBayleys Real Estate Sportsman of the YearHayden WildeTriathlonScott CurryRugbyKane WilliamsonCricketAurecon Innovation in Sport and RecreationSam’s Skate SchoolGeyser Culture and Sports ClubOtumoetai Tennis ClubAdvocate Print Official of the YearJoanie ColesNetballGreg RiegerSurf Life SavingKelly HudsonHockeyEbbett Tauranga Community Organisation of the YearWhakatāne Blue LightRotorua United Football ClubTe Puke Sports and Recreation ClubRotorua Mountain Biking ClubBayTrust Coach of the YearBrendon-Ray HorlockVolleyballCraig KirkwoodTriathlonAlan Bunting and Corey SweeneyRugby sevensYoung Sportsman of the YearHiko-o-te-rangi CurtisCrossFitSamuel TannerAthleticsLachlan Stevens-McNabMountain bikingHenry BookerSports climbingEVES Realty Young Sportswoman of the YearHannah GapesAthleticsJenna HastingsMountain BikingKeira AllotSwimmingCanon Bay of Plenty Disabled Sportsperson of the YearLisa AdamsShot putTe Huia ApaapaHalf marathon, marathon, triathlon,Young Disabled Sportsperson of the YearSiobhan TerrySwimmingBailey ConlonSwimmingForsyth Barr Community Service to Sport and RecreationEmbargoed until Sports Awards eveningVolcanic Hills Team of the YearUpper Central Rugby League StallionsMount Maunganui Rugby Club Womens' TeamBay of Plenty Senior Mens' Volleyball TeamTauranga City Athletic Football Club Womens' TeamRedspot Creative Secondary School Girls' Team of the YearJohn Paul College Cross Country TeamOtumoetai College Rowing U17 Double ScullsJohn Paul College Clay Target Shooting TeamMount Maunganui College Premier 1 Girls Volleyball TeamBay Office Products Depot Secondary School Boys' Team of the YearWhakatāne High School Beach Volleyball TeamRotorua Boys' High School Touch TeamTauranga Boys' College Senior Futsal TeamTauranga Boys' College Squash Team

Next in Lifestyle

'The French Dispatch' - Wes Anderson's 'New Yorker' Tribute
By: Howard Davis
Jill Trevelyan's 'Rita Angus, An Artist's Life'
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media