INDEPENDENT NEWS

Mako Road Dish up New EP ‘Local Safari’

Published: Fri 30 Nov 2018 10:05 AM
Mako Road Dish up New Ep ‘Local Safari’, Drop New Video And Announce Australian And New Zealand Tour
With sounds primed for a hot summer ahead, Christchurch indie four piece Mako Road have arrived with the perfect soundtrack for long nights, cold drinks and hazy days with the ‘Local Safari’ EP, which releases today.
Infused with a melodic reggae, ska and folk inspired sound on this, their second EP, Mako Road deliver five sun soaked tracks punctuated with cruisy riffs, laid back harmonies and easy vocals. Following on from their debut EP ‘The Green Superintendent’, the ‘Local Safari’ EP continues to display a love for great pacing and sonic builds while still progressing their own unique sound. “The Local Safari EP was written with more focus on where we want to go with our live sound”, Rhian Ward, vocalist explains. “‘Happiness & Misery’ and ‘Open Plan Living’ are a step in a different direction, we wanted to push the boat out with what we can do musically. CJ’s bass fills and slap bass feature in this EP and Connor brings more developed effects and variety in his lead guitar this time around.”
Lead single ‘Local Safari’, released with a premiere through Australian tastemaker site Cassettelist, paints a picture of easy days spent beachside, soaking up great times in excellent company. Recorded with Thom O’Connor out of Christchurch’s Orange Studios, the single is a fitting representation of where 2018 has taken the band. “We chose ‘Local Safari’ as the single ‘cos it best sums up our attitude towards life at the moment. We get heaps out of travelling ‘round and meeting people, seeing new places and experiences. It’s been a huge part of this year for us, and we’ve all cleared out summer schedules so we can do more of it over the next few months”, the band states.
To coincide with the release of Mako Road’s new EP, the band have also gifted fans with a brand new music video for ‘Open Plan Living’. A cosmic traipse through a number of different settings, Mako Road make themselves at home outdoors, in the office, on the sea, in a number of different guises. Directed by Tom Irwin, ‘Open Plan Living’ clearly shows the good times ethic that underpins the group and the fun Mako Road have while bringing this project to life.
In celebration of the Local Safari EP release, Mako Road will be hitting the road for a pre-Christmas jaunt around the east coast of Australia before coming home to the New Zealand Summer for the second leg of the tour. Whether you’re stuck city side, at the beach or heading out of town on a roadie to enjoy some of the summer festivals, Mako Road will be performing near you. Tickets are available through the Mako Road website. For updates and set times head to Mako Road’s page on Facebook.
Make Mako Road the soundtrack to your own Local Safari this summer, before the Australians start claiming them as their own.
Mako Road 'Local Safari' Tour Dates
Australia
Friday 7 December The Penny Black Melbourne
Saturday 8 December Heritage Hotel Wollongong
Sunday 9 December The Brass Monkey Sydney
Thursday 13 December Marlborough Hotel Sydney
Friday 14 December Byron Bay Brewery Byron Bay
Sunday 16 December Heya Bar Brisbane
New Zealand
Thursday 27 December Water Bar Wanaka
Saturday 29 December Yonder Queenstown
Monday 31 December Tides NYE Festival Tauranga
Wednesday 2 January Sprig & Fern Nelson
Thursday 10 January The Butter Factory Whangarei
Friday 11 January Neck of the Woods Auckland
Friday 18 January Soundsplash Festival Raglan
Saturday 19 January Tora Bombora Festival Martinborough
Friday 1 February Totara St Mount Maunganui
Saturday 2 February The Cabana Napier
Friday 8 February Waterfront Bar Kapiti Coast
Saturday 9 February Meow Wellington
Friday 15 February Winnie Bagoes Christchurch
Saturday 16 February Venue TBC Dunedin
Saturday 23 February Electric Avenue Festival Christchurch
Mako Road ‘Local Safari’ EP track listing:
Local Safari
Open Plan Living
Lady
Happiness & Misery
Be The Same
Mako Road’s Local Safari EP is out now through Spotify, iTunes and Apple Music.
Follow Mako Road:
Official Website
Facebook
YouTube
Instagram

Next in Lifestyle

Roddy Doyle's Grim and Gritty 'Rosie'
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media