Te Waka Toi Awards to celebrate excellence in Māori art

Published: Thu 1 Nov 2018 11:14 AM
Te Waka Toi Awards to celebrate excellence and achievement in Māori art
Some of the most talented exponents of Ngā Toi Māori will be recognised and celebrated at the 2018 Te Waka Toi Awards for excellence and achievement in Māori art at Te Papa on November 17.
Since 1986 these prestigious national awards have recognised excellence and achievement across all artforms, including Māori heritage arts practice (e.g. tā moko, tarai waka, waiata, mōteatea, rāranga, whakairo, te reo, whaikōrero, karanga, tukutuku, kowhaiwhai, kapa haka waiata a ringa, waiata tawhito, poi, whakaeke, whakawaatea, waiata haka, mau rakau, taonga pūoro and traditional Māori games) as well as the work of Māori artists across all forms of contemporary arts practice (e.g. theatre, dance, literature, photography, visual arts).
“These awards play an important role in recognising and celebrating the life and works of some of this nation’s most talented tohunga. Their work not only plays an important role in the lives of Māori, but also in contributing to this country’s unique cultural identity,” says Arts Council of New Zealand Māori Komiti Chair Suzanne Ellison.
Awards will be presented across seven categories, including Te Tohu Aroha mō Te Arikinui Dame Te Atairangikaahu, Exemplary/Supreme Award, in recognition of leadership, excellence and outstanding contribution to Māori arts, won last year by sculptor Fred Graham (Ngāti Koroki Kahukura, Tainui).
Other categories include:
Te Tohu o Te Papa Rongomaraeroa – in recognition of excellence and outstanding contribution to Ngā Toi Māori (supported by Te Papa)
Ngā Tohu ā Tā Kingi lhaka – in recognition of a lifetime contribution to strengthening Māori art and culture (supported by Te Puni Kōkiri)
Te Tohu Aroha mō Ngoi Kumeroa Pewhairangi: "Whakarongo, Titiro, Kōrero" – in recognition of leadership and outstanding contribution to the promotion of Te Reo Rangatira (supported by Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori (The Māori Language Commission))
Te Tohu Toi Kē a Te Waka Toi – in recognition of a significant impact on the development and practice of Māori arts (supported by Te Māngai Paho)
Ngā Tohu Whakamanawa o Te Matatini – in recognition of outstanding contribution to Kapa Haka (Supported by Te Matatini Society Inc)
Ngā Manu Pīrere – in recognition of achievement by a young Māori artist at an early career stage.
The awards will be broadcast live via the Creative New Zealand Facebook page from 5.30pm (pre-event).
About the Te Waka Toi Awards
The only national awards for Nga Toi Māori, the Te Waka Toi Awards are hosted annually by the Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa through Creative New Zealand. They are supported by Te Papa, Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori (The Māori Language Commission), Te Matatini, Te Puni Kōkiri, and Te Māngai Paho.

Next in Lifestyle

Combating Hate and Extremism
By: Facebook
New Zealand is location for series based on LOTR
By: Amazon Studios
Dunedin's bells ring as city celebrates its albatross
Waititi's Jojo Rabbit wins People's Choice Award at Toronto
Broken Estate: an expat expert surveys our media
New Zealand still the home of Middleearth
By: New Zealand Government
$375 million subsidy for world’s richest man
By: ACT New Zealand
Amazon Studios' Series Offers Significant Opportunities
By: New Zealand Film Commission
Full trailer for Taika Waititi's 'Jojo Rabbit' released
By: 818 Entertainment
First teaser for Taika Waititi's JOJO RABBIT released
By: 818 Entertainment
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media