Māori Radio Awards Finalists Announced

Published: Wed 24 Oct 2018 02:09 PM
Te Whakaruruhau o Ngā Reo Irirangi Māori congratulates the finalists for the Māori Radio Awards 2018 with the winners to be announced at an invitation-only awards evening on Saturday 27 October 2018 at the Energy Events Centre, Rotorua.
Chairman Rawiri Waru says it’s an important day for all involved, “For over 30 years Ngā Reo Irirangi Māori o te motu have played, and continue to occupy, a vital role in the promotion and revitalisation of the Māori language. It is important their efforts and impact are acknowledged and recognised”.
Judge Raniera Winikerei was impressed with both the quantity and quality of the submissions received across all categories, “They were, as expected, of the highest quality”.
This year E Tū Whānau, a major sponsor, will present the newly created E Tū Whānau Inspiring Positive Change Award to recognise extraordinary achievement by a Māori radio station to inspire positive change through the promotion of the E Tū Whānau kaupapa on air, online and out in the community.
The Māori Radio Awards are held every two years, celebrating success in Māori Radio across 18 Categories including Te Pou Irirangi Toa o te Tau, the Station of the Year Award supported by major sponsor Te Māngai Pāho. The awards evening will be simulcast via the Māori Radio Network and via social media on the Te Arawa FM Facebook page, again with the generous support of Te Māngai Pāho.
Te Whakaruruhau o Ngā Reo Irirangi Māori acknowledges our additional event and award sponsors – RCS, Māori Media Network, and The Radio Bureau.

Next in Lifestyle

Roddy Doyle's Grim and Gritty 'Rosie'
By: Howard Davis
Naming Names - 'The Personal History of David Copperfield'
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media