Finalists For Next Magazine 2018 Woman Of The Year

Published: Wed 12 Sep 2018 05:24 PM
Next Magazine Announces Finalists For 2018 Woman Of The Year Awards
Courage, vision and determination all define the finalists for the 2018 Elizabeth Arden and NEXT Woman of the Year Awards, in association with Elizabeth Arden.
From well-known figures to those working under the radar, these 30 exceptional Kiwi women are achievers making the world a better place in their chosen field.
Familiar names in this year’s list of finalists include Black Ferns Sevens captain Sarah Goss, Auckland Writers Festival director Anne O’Brien, Loveblock Wines and Kim Crawford Wines co-founder Erica Crawford and White Ferns player Sophie Devine.
Other finalists include Rez Gardi, born in a refugee camp and now empowering other young refugees to achieve their dreams, Verna McFelin, whose charity helps the children of those in prison, and Dr Ann Brower, the sole survivor of a bus crushed by a falling building during the 2011 Christchurch earthquake who lobbied for a change to the Building Act and now has an amendment named after her.
There are also those focusing on topical issues for New Zealanders, like Brittany Teei’s financial literacy focused charity KidsCoin, Dr Julia Rucklidge’s study into alternative mental health treatments, and Dr Philippa Howden-Chapman’s campaigning for warmer housing.
Others are making a difference globally, like filmmaker Pietra Brettkelly, whose documentaries are lauded around the world, or artist Jacqui Kenny, who refuses to let her agoraphobia and anxiety impact her chance to travel.
Across six categories – Arts & Culture, Sports, Education, Community, Health & Science, and Business & Innovation – the finalists are examples of what can be accomplished through drive and determination.
Established in 2010, the NEXT Woman of the Year Awards shines a spotlight on those who are achieving in all aspects of their lives while making a remarkable contribution to others.
Each finalist is profiled in the October issue of NEXT magazine, on sale now.
The NEXT Woman of the Year winners will be chosen by a judging panel featuring NEXT editor Rachael Russell, The Project’s Kanoa Lloyd and Global Women CEO Miranda Burdon.
The winners will be announced at an awards event at the Cordis hotel in Auckland on October 11.
NEXT Woman of the Year 2018 Finalists:
Arts & Culture
Anne O’Brien, Auckland Writers Festival director
Pietra Brettkelly, filmmaker
Dawn Sanders, Shakespeare Globe Centre NZ founder
Jacqui Kenny, The Agoraphobic Traveller artist
Renee Liang, community arts activist
Business & Innovation
Erica Crawford, Loveblock Wines co-founder
Wendy Thompson, Socialites founder
Sharndre Kushor, Crimson education co-founder
Lillian Grace, Figure.NZ founder
Michelle Sharp, Kilmarnock Enterprises chief executive
Merenia Donne, Kotuku Foundation Assistance Animals Aotearoa founder
Verna McFelin, Pillars chief executive
Louise Allnutt, Foster Hope Charitable Trust founder
Dr Ann Brower, senior lecturer geography
Deborah Manning, KiwiHarvest founder
Dr Rachel Williamson, The Summer Learning Journey founder
Brittany Teei, KidsCoin founder
Ariana Paul, Squiggle co-founder
Rez Gardi, Empower Youth Trust founder
Dr Lucy Hone, resilience educator
Health & Science
Dr Jane Harding, professor of neonatology
Dr Julia Rucklidge, professor of clinical psychology
Dr Nicola Gaston, MacDiamond Institute co-director
Dr Philippa Howden-Chapman, professor of public health
Dr Malvindar Singh-Bains, research fellow
Sarah Goss, Black Ferns Sevens captain
Professor Sarah Leberman, sports researcher
Natalie Taylor, Tall Ferns co-captain
Sophie Devine, White Ferns player
Luisa Avaiki, NZ Rugby League Wellbeing and Women’s Development manager
The October issue of NEXT is on sale now.

Next in Lifestyle

Tarantino's Pitch-Perfect 'Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood'
By: Howard Davis
Stadium announces new naming rights agreement with Sky
By: Wellington Regional Stadium Trust
Serena Williams confirmed for 2020 ASB Classic
By: ASB Classic
Taurua to Coach Silver Ferns through Next Two Campaigns
By: Netball New Zealand
Sky TV cans dividend, writes off $670m
By: BusinessDesk
Public reception for world champion Silver Ferns
By: New Zealand Government
2020 New Zealander of the Year Awards Update
By: New Zealander Of The Year Awards
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media