Smokefreerockquest 2018 online solo-duo finalists announced

Published: Sat 7 Jul 2018 12:43 PM
Smokefreerockquest 2018 – online solo-duo finalists announced
The top eight solo-duos who entered Smokefreerockquest online have been selected to go through to the next stage of the nationwide youth music event.
These entrants took up the opportunity for students who were also playing live in a band to enter as solo-duos online.
Founder and director Glenn Common said there were sixty entrants who took up the online opportunity, with the entries at the upper level reaching a very high standard.
The top eight solo-duos are:
Sam Who? Green Bay High School
Makayla Eli Manurewa High School
George and Arjun Hamilton Boys' High School
Miss Pou Gisborne Girls' High School
Sam Booth& Stoney Campbell-Stevens Gisborne Girls' High School
Rongomai Callaghan Hagley Community College
Estella Romagnoli Nelson College For Girls
Ngawai Nelson College For Girls
The top eight now submit 15 minutes of their best material for selection as national finalists; along with the top two bands and top solo duos from 23 regions around Aotearoa-New Zealand.
Smokefreerockquest Founder and director Glenn Common says there are more entrants than ever before reaching the high standard required from national finalists.
“This means that real dedication is required to achieve the ‘stand out quality’ that the judges will be looking for,” he said. “They have to capture 15 minutes of their original material on video for selection as national finalists. It’s a process that demands creativity and musical ability, being able to work together as a group and having good organisational skills. What separates them out is perseverance – industry success seldom happens overnight.”
The top regional bands and solo/duos submit footage for selection as finalists to play off at the Smokefreerockquest national final on Saturday September 22 at the Dorothy Winstone Centre in Auckland, preceded by the Smokefree Tangata Beats national final on Friday September 21.
The live events run from May 5 until July 6, and most regions are also being filmed for the hugely popular SFRQ webisodes (, fronted this year by NZ’s ‘First Bloke’ Clarke Gayford.
Smokefreerockquest, powered by Rockshop, has national winners’ prize packages for bands and solo/duo winners that includes $22,000 in Rockshop vouchers, $16,000 NZ On Air recording, video and promo package, a photo shoot and branding package from Imaginary Friends. There is also the Musicianship Award, the APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) Lyric Award, Best Song Award, Smokefree Vocals Award, Fatboy Style Award, and the ZM People’s Choice.
Musical successes from Smokefreerockquest over its 30-year history include Broods, Leroy Clampitt, Kimbra, Aaradhna, Opshop, Evermore, Ladyhawke, Kids of 88, Die!Die!Die!, Joel Little, Tiny Ruins, Marlon Williams, Brooke Fraser, Anika Moa, Chelsea Jade, Nadia Reid, Aldous Harding, Steriogram, Phoenix Foundation, Devilskin, The Black Seeds, Bic Runga, and The Naked and Famous. Smokefree Tangata Beats standout successes include Alien Weaponry, Strangely Arousing Nesian Mystik, the only New Zealand band to ever have ten singles all certified gold or platinum.

Next in Lifestyle

'The French Dispatch' - Wes Anderson's 'New Yorker' Tribute
By: Howard Davis
Jill Trevelyan's 'Rita Angus, An Artist's Life'
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media