Smokefreerockquest Auckland regional heats results

Published: Sun 13 May 2018 06:45 PM
Media Release: Smokefreerockquest Auckland regional heats results.
Live music, original songs, selfies and first time nerves – it was all part of the mix at Auckland Girls Grammer over the weekend in this year’s Smokefreerockquest North Shore and Manukau heats.
Over 700 bands and solo/duos are going through regional heats and finals in over 20 venues from Invercargill to Whangarei between May 5 and July 6.
Founder and Director Glenn Common says while Smokefreerockquest is a competition, the environment at the heats is very supportive and the emphasis is on participation.
“The competition is merely the framework on which we hang the opportunity to perform and for entrants to learn from each other. They pick up skills such as stage presence from watching their peers, in a way that can’t be replicated in the classroom.”
These are the top 12 bands to play off at the North Shore regional final at Auckland Girls Grammar, Friday June 8, start time 7pm, tickets $20 adults and $10 students at the door or from Eventfinda (venue, start time and ticketing is the same for all Auckland finals).
Barracuda Swim School Whangaparaoa College Green Bay High School
denon Kaipara College
Equilibrium Rangitoto College
Goat Waitakere College
Husk Glenfield Intermediate Glenfield College Rototuna Junior High School & Saint Kentigern Boys' School
No Attention Span Kaipara College
Strattera Hobsonville Point Secondary School
SideTracked Westlake Boys' High School
Mini Reptile Club Birkenhead College
Special Ed. Westlake Boys' High School
Ultrasound Long Bay College Rangitoto College
It’s Strange Massey High School
These are the top 12 bands to play off at the Manukau regional final on Friday June 15 (start time etc as for North Shore)
Don't Eat The People Pukekohe High School
Divine Pukekohe High School
Factory St Kentigern College, Saint Kentigern Boys' School
The Phoenix Hawke Pukekohe High School
Doubt It Otahuhu College
Borderline Ormiston Senior College
Pocket-Ture Aorere College
Tu + 2 Ormiston Senior College
Mit Eldnar Manurewa High School
Majesty Alfriston College
Niu Trio Manurewa High School
Tempo Manurewa High School
As Auckland Central did not require heats, all entrants go through to the final on Saturday June 9 (start time etc as for North Shore)
Alex and Michaela Epsom Girls Grammar School
Amy Carol Green Bay High School
Atticus may Sacred Heart College (Auckland)
Bad Dog Avondale College
Ben and Jimmy Green Bay High School
Dysfunctional Henderson High School
Eclecticy Auckland Grammar
Feijoa Funk Diocesan School For Girls
Flimsy Cliffs ACG Senior College
Fusion Marcellin College
Goldilocks Western Springs College
Gracie Scragg Diocesan School For Girls
ItReallyBeLikeThat Auckland Grammar
meds and troy Kaipara College
Meraki Massey High School
Minutes to Monday Selwyn College
Missing Kings College
Moon children ACG Sunderland
PASS Band Pacific Advance Senior School
At the regional finals there are awards for the top three bands, the MAINZ Musicianship Award, Smokefree Award For Women’s Musicianship, Lowdown Best Song, the APRA Lyrics Award, the Fatboy Style Award and the ZM People’s Choice voted by text.
The top regional bands and solo/duos submit footage for selection as finalists to play at the Smokefree Tangata Beats national final on Friday September 21 at the Dorothy Winstone Centre in Auckland, followed by the Smokefreerockquest national final on Saturday September 22.
The live events run from May 5 until July 6, and most regions will also be filmed for the hugely popular webisodes ( fronted this year by NZ’s ‘First Bloke’ Clarke Gayford.
Smokefreerockquest, powered by Rockshop, has national winners’ prize packages for bands and solo/duo winners that includes $22,000 in Rockshop vouchers, $16,000 NZ On Air recording, video and promo package, a photo shoot and branding package from Imaginary Friends. There is also the Musicianship Award, the APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) Lyric Award, Best Song Award, Smokefree Vocals Award, Fatboy Style Award, and the ZM People’s Choice.
Musical successes from Smokefreerockquest over its 30-year history include Broods, Leroy Clampitt, Kimbra, Aaradhna, Opshop, Evermore, Ladyhawke, Kids of 88, Die!Die!Die!, Joel Little, Tiny Ruins, Marlon Williams, Brooke Fraser, Anika Moa, Chelsea Jade, Nadia Reid, Aldous Harding, Steriogram, Phoenix Foundation, Devilskin, The Black Seeds, Bic Runga, and The Naked and Famous. Smokefree Tangata Beats standout successes include Alien Weaponry, Strangely Arousing Nesian Mystik, the only New Zealand band to ever have ten singles all certified gold or platinum.

Next in Lifestyle

Pretty Maids All In A Row - 'Mary Queen of Scots'
By: Howard Davis
Wild At Heart - 'The Happy Prince' and 'At Eternity's Gate'
By: Howard Davis
Our Pride – Auckland Pride 2019 Programme Announcement
By: Auckland Pride Festival
Congratulations to our Honours recipients
By: New Zealand Government
Auckland Pride Board ditches parade plans for a walk
Governor-General’s New Year Message
By: Governor General
New Year Honours List 2019
By: New Zealand Government
Honours recognise work that addresses climate change
By: New Zealand Government
Strong Pacific contribution celebrated in New Year’s Honours
By: New Zealand Government
Contributions to sport honoured
By: New Zealand Government
EDS congratulates Raewyn Peart, MNZM
By: Environmental Defence Society
Southland police officer honoured for service
By: New Zealand Police
Chamber congratulates New Year’s Honours recipients
By: Business Central - Wellington
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media