2015 SOUNZ Contemporary Award Finalists Announced

Published: Fri 28 Aug 2015 04:38 PM
Thursday 27.9.2015
2015 SOUNZ Contemporary Award Finalists Announced
SOUNZ Centre for New Zealand Music and APRA AMCOS have announced the finalists for the 2015 SOUNZ Contemporary Award, celebrating excellence in contemporary composition. The selected works represent three generations of New Zealand composers:
Ross Harris: Piano Quintet, for two violins, viola, cello and piano
Reuben Jelleyman: Expanse, for mezzo-soprano and chamber ensemble
Chris Watson: sing songs self, a single movement piano concerto
This year SOUNZ received a record number of entries for deliberation. The jury, convened by SOUNZ, commented that the finalists “weren't afraid of taking risks and exploring new territories”.
“Selected from many outstanding entries, these three unique works are superb examples of the huge range and depth of composition in New Zealand.”
Wellington based composer, and first time finalist, Chris Watson said, “Composing is a lonely pursuit and sometimes the isolation engenders a kind of psychic drift that makes you doubt the quality of your work -- being named a finalist in an award that consistently chooses works of the highest quality is a form of validation from the community of composers and performers.”
The winner of the 2015 SOUNZ Contemporary Award will be announced at the APRA Silver Scroll Awards held at Vector Arena in Auckland on Thursday 17 September. The awards will be streamed live via and the APRA AMCOS website
Reuben Jelleyman, another first time finalist and the youngest ever composer to be nominated for the award, said, “I am particularly delighted to be a part of the awards this year, alongside two of my favourite composers. The history of finalists includes many, from heroes, friends, teachers and family; and so I'm daunted, and yet encouraged, amongst the best of company."
APRA AMCOS has also announced the finalists for the annual APRA Silver Scroll Award, which celebrates its 50th anniversary this year, the Maioha Award and the awards for the Best Original Music in a Feature Film and in a Series. In addition APRA AMCOS inducts significant creators to the New Zealand Music Hall Of Fame.
The SOUNZ Contemporary Award, presented in partnership with APRA, has been awarded since 1998, recognising New Zealand compositions that demonstrate outstanding levels of creativity and inspiration.
Ross Harris
Piano Quintet (2013) for 2 violins, viola, cello and piano
Reuben Jelleyman
Expanse (2014) for mezzo-soprano and chamber ensemble
Chris Watson
sing songs self (2012) a single movement piano concerto

Next in Lifestyle

Biggest Investment In Kapa Haka Announced In Today’s Budget
By: Te Matatini
Budget Funding Delivers An Effective Cut To Early Childhood Education
By: Kindergartens Aotearoa
Dunedin Artist Finalist In Archibald Prize With Portrait Of NZ Photographer Fiona Pardington
By: Amie Richardson
Te Wānanga O Aotearoa To Sell Tokoroa Site With Lease-back Condition
By: Te Wananga o Aotearoa
Quitline Reminds People Can Get Quitline Support To Quit Smoking Tobacco & Vaping In The Lead Up To World Smokefree Day
By: Whakarongorau Aotearoa
Celebrating Trailblazing Filmmaker Merata Mita
By: NZ On Screen
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media