Waiata Maori Music Awards Winners, 2013

Published: Sat 14 Sep 2013 02:21 PM
Waiata Maori Music Awards Winners, 2013
Whakatane woman, singer/songwriter Maisey Rika, has won four of the nine titles in the Open Section at this year’s National Waiata Maori Music Awards.
Rika won the Best Maori Traditional Album, Te Reo Maori (Whitiora); Best Maori Female Solo Artist; Best Song by a Maori Artist (Tangaroa Whakamautai); Best Maori Song Writer.
Tangaroa Whakamautai also won Best Music Video by a Maori Artist, by director Shae Stiring.
There were 16 finalists across nine categories and the winners were announced at the Waiata Maori Music Awards ceremony held at the Hawke’s Bay Opera House in Hastings tonight.
Urban singer Pieter T is currently touring overseas and was not able to attend the awards to pick up the titles for the Best Maori Urban Rap/Hip Hop/ RnB Album (Completion) and the Best Maori Male Solo Artist.
The awards were accepted by Pieter T’s representative, Hustle Management Limited.
Solo artist Te Awanui Reeder was the big winner at the 2012 awards, taking home three titles, and this year he returned to claim the Best Maori Urban Roots Album Award (Heartbeat).
International performer, Wellington’s Toni Huata has been a finalist at the Waiata Maori Music Awards previous years and in 2013 claimed her first title, Best Maori Pop Album (Hopukia).
There were also two radio airplay awards recognising Maori music and Maori artists.
The Radio Airplay Record of the Year by a Maori Artist in Te Reo Maori, sponsored by Te Whakaruruhau o Nga Reo Irirangi o Aotearoa, was won by Wellington singer Kirsten Te Rito
The Radio Airplay Record of the Year Award by a Maori Artist, sponsored by NZ on Air, went to Stan Walker.
There were also three award recipients in the Nominated Section this year.
It included performing arts advocate Ngamoni Huata, Rotorua (Keeper of Traditions Award); The Waipatu Maori Catholic Club, Hastings ( Lifetime Contribution to Maori Music) and pop/rock Golden Harvest (Music Industry Award).
National Waiata Maori Music Awards 2013 winners
1. Best Maori Traditional Album (Te Reo)
Maisey Rika
2. Best Maori Songwriter
Maisey Rika
3. Best Maori Song
Maisey Rika (Tangaroa Whakamautai)
4. Best Maori Female Solo Artist
Maisey Rika
5. Best Maori Male Solo Artist
Pieter T
6. Best Maori Pop Album
Toni Huata
7. Best Maori Urban Roots Album
Te Awanui Reeder
8. Best Maori Urban Rap/Hip Hop/RnB Album
Pieter T (Completion)
9. Best Music Video by a Maori Artist
Tangaroa Whakamautai (Maisey Rika) director Shae Stirling
10. Radio Airplay Record of the Year by a Maori Artist in Te Reo Maorisponsored by Te Whakaruruhau o nga Reo Irirangi o Aotearoa.
Kirsten Te Rito (Oranga)
11. Radio Airplay Record of the Year by a Maori Artist sponsored by NZ on Air.
Stan Walker (Take It Easy).

Next in Lifestyle

Emerald Fenenell's 'Promising Young Woman'
By: howard davis
Jill Trevelyan's 'Rita Angus, An Artist's Life'
By: Howard Davis
The Back of the Painting
By: howard davis
Black Panthers on the Prowl
By: Howard Davis
Controlling the High Ground
By: Howard Davis
Dryzabone - Robert Conolly's 'The Dry'
By: Howard Davis
Hit The Road, Jack - Chloé Zhao's 'Nomadland'
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media