Jo-Ha-Kyū: Refinement And Abandon

Published: Tue 30 Oct 2012 04:27 PM
Jo-Ha-Kyū: Refinement And Abandon
Jo-ha-kyū brings to New Zealand two of Japan’s finest musicians for three unique concerts in Auckland and Wellington.
Tosiya Suzuki is perhaps the world’s foremost contemporary recorder player, taking the often-delicate instrument to acrobatic levels of virtuosity and dynamism.
Koto player Nanae Yoshimura also plays with breathtaking facility, at once explosive and elegant. She also leads the charge in developing new sounds and repertoire for the koto.
Suzuki and Yoshimura perform a recital on Friday, 23 November in the Wellington City Gallery’s Adam Auditorium, and they’re joined the following evening by a host of local chamber music talent. In their final concert in The Loft at Auckland’s Q Theatre, the duo performs alongside guitarist Dylan Lardelli.
Meaning: “beginning, break, rapid”, Jo-ha-kyū represents an artistic sensibility at home in musical languages from a variety of geographical and historical origins. New works by cutting-edge New Zealand composers Samuel Holloway, Dylan Lardelli and Chris Gendall feature alongside new and recent Japanese pieces by Chikako Morishita, Misato Mochizuki and Toshio Hosokawa.
Also on the programme is equally cutting-edge music of earlier eras, including traditional Japanese and Italian pieces of the late Renaissance. With sound-worlds united in their ambition to transform listener experience, performed with unbridled verve and passion, Jo-ha-kyū promises three unmissable events.
Friday, 23 November: Adam Auditorium, Wellington City
Tosiya Suzuki – Recorder
Nanae Yoshimura – Koto
Programme includes music by Giovanni Bassano, Toshio Hosokawa, Salvatore Sciarrino, Misato Mochizuki, Dylan Lardelli, and Hiroyuki Itoh
Saturday, 24 November: Adam Auditorium, Wellington City Gallery
Tosiya Suzuki – Recorder
Nanae Yoshimura – Koto
Dylan Lardelli – Guitar
Peter Dykes – Oboe
Hayden Sinclair – Clarinet
Inbael Meggido – Cello
Hamish McKeich – Conductor
Programme includes music by Chikako Morishita, Samuel Holloway, Joji Yuasa, Chris Gendall, Dylan Lardelli and Akihito Tokunaga
Monday, 26 November: The Loft at Q Theatre, Auckland
Nanae Yoshimura - Koto
Tosiya Suzuki - Recorder
Dylan Lardelli - Guitar
Programme includes music by Toshio Hosokawa, Misato Mochizuki, Takashi Tokunaga, Samuel Holloway, Dylan Lardelli, and Salvatore Sciarrino
Tickets: $25/$15

Next in Lifestyle

Malicious Melodrama - Todd Haynes’ ‘May December’
By: Howard Davis
The Austerity Of Quiet Despair - Wim Wenders’ ‘Perfect Days’
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media