New Zealand History – but not as we know it

Published: Fri 7 Sep 2012 09:48 AM
New Zealand History – but not as we know it.
Well known Maori historian, Hazel Petrie and successful author David Veart have each been presented with a 2012 CLNZ Writers’ Award at a ceremony held at the Auckland Town Hall tonight. The largest monetary prize of its kind, they both receive $35,000 so they can dedicate their time to their non-fiction projects.
David Veart’s first book First Catch Your Weka was a double finalist in the Montana New Zealand Book Awards and his second book Digging up the Past won an Honour Award in the NZ Post Children’s Book Awards this year. David’s submission for his next book Hello Girls and Boys: A New Zealand Toy Story “will bring out the child in all of us and appeal to a wide audience” said the awards selection panel. “Veart has a very colourful style to his books and this one promises to be no exception.”
Hazel Petrie has an equally interesting story to tell from days gone by. Her book, to be titled ‘Into the Darkness’ “will break entirely new ground on how Maori war captives were treated and how Maori ‘slavery’ is perceived today” says Petrie. Having completed her PhD in Maori Studies in 2004, Petrie has a wealth of knowledge and published a number or articles on related topics. Her book Chiefs of Industry: Maori Tribal Enterprise in Early Colonial New Zealand was a finalist in the 2007 New Zealand Book Awards.
The selection panel agrees, “this outstanding and original work will uncover a controversial subject little have touched on in New Zealand’s history.” Petrie’s opening paragraph “was stirring and will be a must-have for academics, teachers, historians and the general public” the panel said.
Other projects recognised by the selection panel and presented as 2012 finalists were:
Michael Corballis: The Wandering Mind
Vincent O’Malley: The Waikato War 1863-64
Geoff Chapple: Terrain: North Island
Copyright Licensing New Zealand (CLNZ) provides licenses to education facilities, government departments and businesses to enable them to copy, scan and share from copyright protected print material. CLNZ is not for profit organisation that is jointly owned by the New Zealand Society of Authors (NZSA) and the Publishers Association of New Zealand (PANZ). Revenue generated from licenses (after operating costs) is redistributed back to the owners of the work being copied.
The CLNZ Writers’ Awards is the largest monetary prize of its kind. Since it began in 2002, CLNZ has contributed over $1 million to NZ non-fiction.

Next in Lifestyle

Te Wānanga O Aotearoa To Sell Tokoroa Site With Lease-back Condition
By: Te Wananga o Aotearoa
Quitline Reminds People Can Get Quitline Support To Quit Smoking Tobacco & Vaping In The Lead Up To World Smokefree Day
By: Whakarongorau Aotearoa
Celebrating Trailblazing Filmmaker Merata Mita
By: NZ On Screen
Covid-19: NZ Experiencing Highest Peak In 18 Months - Epidemiologist
Neurodiversity In Schools: ‘It’s Not New, But Our Understanding Has Increased’
By: David Hill - Local Democracy Reporter
Ryman Voted Most Trusted Brand A Milestone Tenth Time
By: Ryman Healthcare
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media