Sir Peter Blake Trust seeks emerging leaders

Published: Thu 16 Feb 2012 11:36 AM
Media Release
16 February 2012
Sir Peter Blake Trust seeks emerging leaders
There are leaders and there are dreamers. Leaders make things happen. Dreamers have a vision. The truly special people do both. The Sir Peter Blake Trust once again is searching to recognise individuals who have Dared to Dream as part of the country’s premier leadership awards.
The Sir Peter Blake Emerging Leader Awards, announced as part of the Trust’s annual Leadership Week from 22 - 29June, identify six leaders between the ages of 25 and 45 who have inspired and achieved across many walks of life, sometimes in relative obscurity.
Anyone can nominate a worthy emerging Kiwi leader, with a deadline this year of 30 March.
Chief Executive of the Sir Peter Blake Trust, Shelley Campbell, says the Awards aim to encourage New Zealanders to develop the kind of leadership demonstrated by Sir Peter Blake during his legendary yachting and environmental feats.
Sir Peter Blake had a dream to win the America’s Cup. Then it was the leader in him that meant he was daring enough to get a whole country behind him to make it a reality.
“True leaders dare to dream. They are willing to stand tall and put a stake in the ground, to believe. It’s their vision, their ability to inspire and their belief that makes them stand above the rest.”
Last year’s Emerging Leaders included the founder of triathlon movement IronMaori, a talented young lawyer exploring international conflict resolution, and a young entrepreneur who believes passionately in philanthropy.
“Since the Leadership Awards began in 2005, we have established an outstanding community of 50 Blake Leaders – people from all walks of life that have turned their dreams into reality and encouraged change in their communities.
Nominations are encouraged from all sectors of society. Each one is considered seriously in a rigorous review process.”
The Emerging Leaders are announced alongside the Blake Medal, which celebrates a great New Zealander who has made an outstanding contribution to the country.
The Sir Peter Blake Leadership Awards were established in 2005 to inspire and celebrate great leadership. The Awards are open to all New Zealanders.
For more information visit
Editors Note:
2011 Emerging Leaders
Raelene Castle, Dr Andrew Coy, Rebecca Elvin, Derek Handley, Tawera Nikau, Heather Skipworth
Blake Medal recipients
Dame Margaret (2011); Sir Ray Avery (2010); Dr John Hood (2009); Sir Murray Halberg (2008); Professor Paul Callaghan (2007); Sir Stephen Tindall (2006); and Sir John Anderson (2005).

Next in Lifestyle

Charlotte Yates' 'Mansfield' Project
By: Howard Davis
Dazed & Confused by 'Beats'
By: Howard Davis
And The Oscar Goes To … 'Parasite'
By: Howard Davis
1917's 1,000 Yard Stare
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media