20th Wallace Art Awards Winners’ Announced

Published: Tue 6 Sep 2011 10:28 AM
EMBARGO MEDIA RELEASE: Monday 5 September 2011
FOR PUBLIC RELEASE: Tuesday 6 September
20th Wallace Art Awards Winners’ Announced
The 20th Wallace Art Awards 2011, with prizes amounting to over $165,000, will be presented tonight by Auckland Mayor Len Brown at The Pah Homestead, TSB Bank Wallace Arts Centre.
The 2011 Wallace Arts Trust Paramount Award Winner will be revealed in real time through the Wallace Arts Trust Virtual Gallery exhibition of Paramount Award Winners, made possible by Auckland digital art innovator
The Wallace Arts Trust received 559 entries from which 117 entries have been selected as finalists. Sixty-one finalists have been chosen for the Travelling Show and the balance is represented in the Salon des Refusés. The Awards were judged by three distinguished New Zealand artists – Philip Trusttum, Sara Hughes and Peter Gibson-Smith.
THE 2011 WINNERS ARE: Akiko Diegel
Wallace Arts Trust Paramount Award
Akiko receives a 6 month-residency at the International Studio and Curatorial Program in New York, USA. Brydee Rood
Fulbright Wallace Trust Award
Brydee receives a 3 month-residency at the Headlands Center for the Arts in San Francisco, USA. Matt Ellwood
The Kaipara Foundation Wallace Trust Award
Matt receives a 3 month-residency at the Altes Spital in Solothurn, Switzerland Bronwynne Cornish
Wallace Development Award
Bronwynne receives a 2 month-residency at the Vermont Studio Center in Vermont, USA. Emil McAvoy
Ist Runner Up Award
Emil is awarded $2,000 cash Anita Levering
2nd Runner Up Award
Anita is awarded $2,000 cash
Philip Dadson
Jury Award
This prize is non-monetary The People’s Choice Award, worth $500, will be decided after the Travelling Exhibition has finished its leg at The Dowse on 4 December.
Winners and selected finalists will be chosen for the Travelling Exhibition, on show at the TSB Bank Wallace Arts Centre in Auckland from 6 September to 16 October 2011, and The Dowse in Lower Hutt from 29 October to 4 December 2011. A Salon des Refusés will be on show at the TSB Bank Wallace Arts Centre in Auckland from 6 September to 14 October 2011.
DETAILS OF WINNING WORKS Akiko Diegel Cure (2011), Disprin packets, perspex, 650 x 450 x 27mm Matt Ellwood Unconditional Love (2011) Plywood, dowel, 950 x 1100 x 1500mm Brydee Rood Müll Ballon Wolke Kanal Projekt (2011) Intervention / live installation performance / video (created using a 3-person kayak)
*Brydee Rood won the Fulbright Award with a body of works – this image is representative of one work Bronwynne Cornish Between a Rock and Hard Place (2011) Ceramic collage mounted on metal stand, 500 x 300 x 300mm Philip Dadson Headstamps II: Homage to the Silk Road (2011) DVD video/sound, 5.00 minutes Emil McAvoy Helen (2011) Archival pigment on Hahnemuehle paper, 1110 x 830mm Anita Levering False Flat – Sap Green on Paynes Grey (2010) Acrylic and watercolour on linen, 2080 x 1980mm

Next in Lifestyle

Emerald Fenenell's 'Promising Young Woman'
By: howard davis
Jill Trevelyan's 'Rita Angus, An Artist's Life'
By: Howard Davis
The Back of the Painting
By: howard davis
Black Panthers on the Prowl
By: Howard Davis
Controlling the High Ground
By: Howard Davis
Dryzabone - Robert Conolly's 'The Dry'
By: Howard Davis
Hit The Road, Jack - Chloé Zhao's 'Nomadland'
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media