Canterbury Smokefreerockquest 2011 results

Published: Mon 8 Aug 2011 10:54 AM
Media Release
Canterbury Smokefreerockquest 2011 results
A soul-reggae band from Aranui High School and a singer-songwriter from Cashmere High School won the 2011 Canterbury Smokefreerockquest regional finals at Hornby High School over the weekend.
On Saturday night the winner was 8 Plus One, whose members are Jordan August, Sefo Samuelu, Teina Trill, Manu Vaoga, Uale Peneli, Alex Mosegi, Vai Punivai, Vidette Seumantafa and Caleb Vanilau.
Second place went to rock group, the Alf Stewart Appreciation Band from Burnside, Cashmere and Riccarton High Schools, whose members are Rhyz Bell, George Bates, Peter Scriven and Caleb Waiari.
On Sunday night the winner was Claudia Jardine with second place going to alternative fourpiece rock band Villain from Shirley Boys' High School, whose members are Richard Kwon, Edward Kwon, Cameron Hoy and Shaun McTague.
The winner and second placegetter from each night win musical gear from NZ Rockshops and are in the running for one of six national finalist spots in this year’s Smokefreerockquest. As the Christchurch event was delayed due to the earthquakes, the top bands did not have time to submit a DVD. Instead video footage shot at the regional final will be viewed by the judging panel, with the six finalists announced later today (Monday August 8).
The six national finalists are being selected from a pool made up of first and second place-getters from each of the 27 regional finals where this year’s record 800 entrants played off over winter.
In term three, Smokefreerockquest and the NZ Music Commission, with funding from the Ministry of Education, will partner the regional winner with a mentor band - a band that is some years ahead and has first hand knowledge of the industry.
The national final will be held this year in the new 5000-seat Claudelands Arena in Hamilton on 17 September. The prize package is designed as a big helping hand into the music industry. It includes a NZ On Air new recording and music video grant worth $10,000, a place on the NZ On Air Kiwi Hit Disc, musical gear to the value of $10,000 from NZ Rockshops, 1000 single CDs produced by Forge Media, and radio and TV play of the single. There is also the MAINZ Scholarship for outstanding musicianship, the APRA Lyric Award, the Lowdown Best Song Award and the Smokefree Women’s Musicianship Award.
Other Canterbury awards made over the weekend.
Third place winning musical gear from NZ Rockshops and their suppliers:
Century City from Cashmere High School (Sat)
Organectomy Shirley Boys' High School & Hagley Community College (Sun)
Smokefree People’s Choice:
The Forster Brothers from Lincoln High School (Sat)
TSOR from Thorrington School (Sun)
The Mainz Musicianship Award with the opportunity to be selected for the $4500 Music and Audio Institute of New Zealand Scholarship, announced at the national finals:
Caleb Waiari, guitarist from Alf Stewart Appreciation Band, Riccarton High (Sat)
Adam Hattaway, guitarist from Bikini & Marlon, Unlimited Paenga Tawhiti (Sun)
The APRA Lyric Writer’s Award judged from lyrics submitted at the heats:
Isaac Bennet, Phlat 9 Volt, Hagley Community College (Sat)
Alexander Tardi-Zuch, Red Rackham, Oxford Area School (Sun)
Lowdown Best Song: Mirum, Christchurch Boys' High and Cashmere High (Sat)
The Haze, Christchurch Boys' High School & St Andrew's College (Sun)
Smokefree Award For Women’s Musicianship:
Niamh Sutton, singer guitarist, Century City, Cashmere High School (Sat)
Claudia Jardine, Cashmere High School (Sun)

Next in Lifestyle

Howard Davis: Estère At San Fran
By: Howard Davis
Back On The Stairway To Heaven: Led Zeppelin Wins Over Spirit
By: Binoy Kampmark
Amazon Original Borat Subsequent Moviefilm - Trailer And Launch Date
By: Amazon
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media