Julius Vogel Awards for Science Fiction, Fantasy And Horror

Published: Wed 8 Jun 2011 03:57 PM
Press Release – For Immediate Release – 7th of June, 2011.
Sir Julius Vogel Awards for New Zealand
Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror
2011 Results Announced
The Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ) is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s Sir Julius Vogel Awards. Categories and winners in each category are listed.
Professional Awards Section
Best Novel - Adult
Joint Winners:
The Heir of Night by Helen Lowe (Orbit)
The Questing Road by Lyn McConchie (Tor Books)
Best Novel - Young Adult
Winner : Summer of Dreaming by Lyn McConchie (Cyberwizard Publications)
Best Short Story
Winner: High Tide At Hot Water Beach by Paul Haines
(A Foreign Country: New Zealand Speculative Fiction), Random Static
Best Novella/Novelette
Winner: A Tale Of The Interferers – Hunger For Forbidden Flesh by Paul Haines
(Sprawl Anthology)
Best Collected Work
Winner : A Foreign Country: New Zealand Speculative Fiction
Edited by Anna Caro and Juliet Buchanan, Random Static
Best Professional Artwork
Winner: Frank Victoria – Tymon’s Flight cover
(HarperCollins Publishers Australia)
Best Dramatic Presentation – Long Form
Joint Winners:
This Is Not My Life – Pilot Episode
Directors: Rob Sarkies & Pete Salmon
Executive Producers: Gavin Strawhan, Rachel Lang, Steven O’Meagher & Tim White
Producer: Tim Sanders
Associate Producer: Polly Fryer
Kaitangata Twitch – Pilot Episode
Production Shed TV
Producer: Chris Hampson
Director/Executive Producer: Yvonne Mackay
Executive Producer: Dorothee Pinfold, Jan Haynes
Associate Producer: Margaret Mahy
Writer: Gavin Strawhan, Michael Bennett and Briar Grace-Smith
Actors: Te Waimarie Kessell, George Henare
Best Professional Publication
Winner: White Cloud Worlds Anthology
Edited by Paul Tobin
Best New Talent
Winner: Karen Healey
Fan Awards Section
Best Fan Production
Winner: Doctor Who Podcast
Paul Mannering
Broken Sea Productions
Best Fan Writing
Winner: Jacqui Smith
Musings From Under The Mountain and Novazine Contributions
Best Publication
Winner: Novazine
Edited by Jacqui Smith
Special Awards
Services to Fandom
Winner: Ross Temple
Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror
Winner: Simon Litten
This year's Sir Julius Vogel Awards were voted on at ConText, the 2011 New Zealand National Science Fiction Convention, held at the Barrycourt Quality Hotel, Auckland, NZ. Results were announced to the ConText attendees on the evening of Sunday the 5th of June after the convention banquet function.
The Sir Julius Vogel Awards were awarded to professionals and fans for work that was undertaken, completed or released during the 2010 calendar year. To see FULL nomination details, please go here:
The Sir Julius Vogel Awards are administered by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand.

Next in Lifestyle

By: Kirk MacGibbon
NZ Blood Workers Plan 24-hour Strike For Pay Parity
Announcing The Inaugural Mercedes Webb-Pullman Poetry Award
By: Webb-Pullman Poetry Award
New Project Aims To Transform Health Care Response To Family Violence
By: Auckland University of Technology
Protecting NZ’s Children From The Impacts Of Some Of World’s Highest Screen Time
By: Auckland University of Technology
Youth Week: A Time To Celebrate Rangatahi In Aotearoa
By: Ara Taiohi
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media