Writers Invited To Enter Mind, Body, Spirit Awards

Published: Sat 5 Mar 2011 07:14 PM
New Zealand Writers Invited To Enter Mind, Body, Spirit Awards
-Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Unpublished Manuscript and Book Awards 2011-
Writers with a special interest in the mind, body, spirit genre are encouraged to enter their work into the 2011 Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Literature Awards.
The Awards recognise both budding and published writers by offering two of the largest prizes awarded for literature in New Zealand.
The Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust, in association with the New Zealand Society of Authors (NZSA) will present two prizes of $10,000 each to the winning unpublished manuscript and published book authors.
Adonia Wylie, spokesperson for the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust, is encouraging New Zealand writers to enter the Awards.
“The Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Literature Awards recognise some of the best literary talent in New Zealand and we would encourage writers to submit their work whether they are a burgeoning writer or an established author.”
Ms. Wylie says the Trust’s founder, Ashton Wylie, was an Auckland businessman and philanthropist with a passion for spiritual awareness and promoting loving relationships.
“The Awards are a continuation of The Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust’s dedication to education in the mind, body, spirit field. We are looking for written works which will educate, enlighten, engage and uplift the reader.”
Last year Lloyd Geering of Wellington won the published book category for his work “Such is Life!: A Close Encounter with Ecclesiastes” and Jennifer McIntosh of Whangarei was awarded the unpublished manuscript prize for her work “Pearls”.
Tina Shaw, Programme Manager, The New Zealand Society of Authors, says that the category of mind, body, spirit literature is gaining momentum in New Zealand.
“Last year we received 50 unpublished manuscript and 45 published book entries into the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Literature Awards, which indicates a strong number of New Zealand writers are exploring the mind, body, spirit field.”
To be eligible for the awards, writers must be New Zealand citizens residing in the country. Unpublished manuscripts must be submitted by 31 March 2011, and be between 20,000 and 100,000 words in length. Published books must be submitted by 31 May 2011, should be 48 pages or longer and must have been published between 1 April 2010 and 31 March 2011.
The Awards will be presented in a ceremony at the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust’s own venue, the Hopetoun Alpha in Auckland in August 2011.
Submission forms and entry details are available from The New Zealand Society of Authors national office, phone: 09 379 4801, or post: PO Box 7701, Wellesley Street, Auckland 1141.
Writers are also invited to register for the informative Publishing for Authors workshop to run in conjunction with the Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust Literature Awards on Saturday 20th August 2011 at the Hopetoun Alpha, Auckland.
Guest speakers include Steve Messenger of Astra Print, Paula Browning of Copyright Licensing Ltd, Sarah Gumbley, legal publisher and consultant, and Maria Gill, published author.

Next in Lifestyle

Heritage Group Calls For Release Of Promised $250,000 Grant
By: Maia Hart - Local Democracy Reporter
Youth Want Tighter Vaping Controls
By: Asthma and Respiratory Foundation of New Zealand
Managing Muscle Soreness In A Post-Epidemic Gym Landscape
By: ExerciseNZ
Kiwi Student Helps Tongan Community Improve Drinking Water
By: University of Canterbury
Thousands Of Chocolate Lovers Gearing Up For Chocstock
By: Chocstock
The NZ Art Show Draws Record Crowds : A Cherished And Celebrated Event – 21 Years!
By: NZ Art Show
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media