NZ Secondary Schools Netball Trialists Announced

Published: Wed 8 Dec 2010 01:32 PM
NZ Secondary Schools Netball Trialists Announced
Netball New Zealand today announced the 28 girls selected as trialists for the 2011 New Zealand Secondary Schools Netball Team. The trials are to be held in Christchurch at Pioneer Stadium, April 2011.
From this team, 12 players will be chosen to represent the New Zealand Secondary Schools Team in the Trans-Tasman Secondary Schools tournament, a competition that is based in New Zealand and Australia on alternate years, and will be held at Te Rauparaha Arena in Porirua, 2011.
NZSS Coach, Helene Wilson was thrilled with the amount of talent to choose from at Secondary School level.
“I am very excited about the depth and variety of the secondary school trialists chosen from around the country,” Wilson said. “With an aim of defending the International Schoolgirls Challenge title in 2011, these trialists have all made a commitment to work hard over the coming months in preparation for the trials in April.”
The new NZSS Manager has also been announced today with Clare Malthus from Otago taking over the role and joining the management team of Helene Wilson (Coach) and Natalie Avellino (Assistant Coach).
The 2009 NZ Secondary Schools Trialists are:
NameSurnameRegion School
Tera-Maria Amani Auckland/Waitakere Mt Albert Grammar
Jessica Bourke Auckland/Waitakere Marist College
Aisha Bower North Northcote College
Debra Catherwood North Carmel College
Alice Eddington Canterbury Craighead Diocesan Christchurch
Sharnee Edmonds Auckland/Waitakere Auckland Girls Grammar School
Elizabeth Ene Counties/Manukau Sancta Maria College
Temalisi Fakahokatau North Westlake Girls High School
Kendra Falefitu Auckland/Waitakere Auckland Girls Grammar School
Kimberley Goodearl Wellington Hutt Valley High School
Huia Harding Western New Plymouth Girls High School
Sarah Hayman Canterbury Rangiora High School
Simone Howe Bay of Plenty Opotiki College
Phoenix Karaka Auckland/Waitakere Auckland Girls Grammar School
Brooke Leaver Western Tu Toa
Sharnii Lintern Wellington Aotea College
Nadia Loveday Counties/Manukau Alfriston
Emma Mayo Wellington St Marys Wellington
Tamsin Moala Western Sacred Heart New Plymouth
Greer Patterson Western New Plymouth Girls High School
Erikana Pederson Auckland/Waitakere Mt Albert Grammar
Mataroa Poi Eastern Lytton High School
Jamie-Lee Price Auckland/Waitakere Mt Albert Grammar
Rebekah Roache Auckland/Waitakere Mt Albert Grammar
Sam Sinclair Bay of Plenty John Paul College
Renee Te Rini Western Tu Toa
Zoe Walker Tasman Waimea College
Brooke Watt Wellington Wellington East Girls College
NZSS Management:
Coach: Helene Wilson
Coaching Record: Netball North U21, Netball North Harbour U17, NSW U16, U19, NZ Secondary Schools (assistant coach, 2009 - 2010)
Assistant Coach: Natalie Avellino
Coaching Record: Samoan Technical Advisor, Player/Coach Southland A, Southland Men’s Netball, Southland Girls Senior B
Manager: Clare Malthus
Previous roles: Otago NPC Manager
Physiotherapist: Jenny Ferguson
Previous roles: NZSS physio 2009 -2010, FastNet Ferns Physio 2010, Southern Steel Physio

Next in Lifestyle

Emerald Fenenell's 'Promising Young Woman'
By: howard davis
Jill Trevelyan's 'Rita Angus, An Artist's Life'
By: Howard Davis
The Back of the Painting
By: howard davis
Black Panthers on the Prowl
By: Howard Davis
Controlling the High Ground
By: Howard Davis
Dryzabone - Robert Conolly's 'The Dry'
By: Howard Davis
Hit The Road, Jack - Chloé Zhao's 'Nomadland'
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media