Kiwi duo miss winning AUD$100k NESCAFÉ Big Break

Published: Tue 7 Nov 2006 08:11 AM
Young Kiwi duo narrowly miss winning AUD$100k NESCAFÉ Big Break
Seventeen year old New Zealanders Bryden Nicholas and Andrew Robinson were pipped at the post in the finals of the trans-Tasman NESCAFÉ Big Break programme by Australian surf photographer, Stuart Gibson.
The final stage in the annual programme saw the duo up against five Australian contenders. The Australian and New Zealand public voted to decide who would take home the biggest ever NESCAFÉ Big Break grand award -
NESCAFÉ Big Break gives 16 to 24 year olds the chance to score cash to help them realise their dreams and ambitions.
Bryden and Andrew take away AUD$15,000 which will go a long way towards their dream of being the first Kiwi team to compete in C2 Canoe Slalom (double canoe) at the 2008 Beijing Olympics. They have represented New Zealand internationally and attracted global interest at the 2005 World Championships as the youngest competitors in the senior C2 team.
“We would have loved the top prize, sure, but we’re stoked to have been in the top six! The New Zealand public has been fantastic – so supportive. This will definitely help us get closer to our big dream,” says Bryden.
Since launching in New Zealand in 2000, NESCAFÉ Big Break has awarded in excess of $380,000 to kick-start the ambitions of more than 28 young Kiwis in diverse areas such as technology, the arts, business, sport, fashion, design and agriculture.
Anyone aged 16-24 with a big idea, in need of a cash injection to make it happen, can sign-up now to receive entry details for the 2007 NESCAFÉ Big Break. Go to
- ENDS -

Next in Lifestyle

Early Childhood Teachers’ Union Calls For Stop To Sector Regulatory Review
By: NZEI Te Riu Roa
New Zealand To Be Represented By 195 Athletes At Paris 2024
Grok's Coding Challenge Now Free For All Aotearoa New Zealand Students
By: Grok Academy
A Call For Strong Leadership To Reduce NZ’s Dangerously High Antibiotic Use
By: Public Health Communication Centre
Disabled Artists’ Theatre Festival 2024
By: Disabled Artists Festival of Theatre
Announcing The Winner Of The 2024 Michael Gifkins Prize
By: New Zealand Society of Authors
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media