Canterbury Team Wins NZ National Wine Tasting Competition

Published: Tue 10 Aug 2021 01:51 PM
The NZ National Wine Tasting Competition Final was a tightly contested race for the top score. With 8 wines and 40 questions, the top 5 slots rotated regularly with the Canterbury Team (Photo attached) of CP Lin, Ashley Stewart, Tony Dale and Michael Ormandy winning by 964 points or just one question. Our Bubble of 4 in the OPEN category came 2nd with team members Allister Mora, Silvia Rueckschnat, Dave Anderson and Robyn Lansdaal. In 3rd place were the Hawkes Bay team of Sue Fox-Warren, Yvonne Lorkin, Nick Stewart and Hannes Sohnge.
Celia Hay, chair of New Zealand Sommeliers and Wine Professionals Association comments.
“This is the first time that our association has run a wine tasting competition and we are delighted to see the interest around New Zealand which included 12 teams competing in Martinborough.
We are selecting wines from well-known regions that have recognisable styles so that people who regularly taste wine should have a reasonable chance to identify the wines that we pour. The wines are different at each competition.
These days we use a digital app to present the questions and the teams of 4 use a mobile phone to ‘tap’ their answers.
It’s fun and provides a unique environment to test wine knowledge. We will continue to offer the competition each year.
The New Zealand Sommeliers and Wine Professionals Association is a non-profit registered society supporting people working in wine and hospitality in New Zealand. It is a member of ASI Association of Sommeliers International who run regular competitions around the world.White wines tastedBadenhorst 'Secateurs' Chenin Blanc 2020 - Swartland, South AfricaGreywacke Sauvignon Blanc 2020, Marlborough, NZHospice de Colmar Riesling 2016 - Alsace, FranceVilla Maria Ihumātao Chardonnay 2018, Auckland, NZ
Red wines
Dominique Piron, Fleurie 2019, Beaujolais, FranceGiesen Clayvin Syrah 2019, Marlborough, NZHans Herzog, Spirit of Marlborough 2015, NZPeter Lehmann, The Barossan Shiraz, 2018, Barossa, Australia1st Place: Canterbury
Ashley Stewart
CP Lin
Tony Dale
Michael Ormandy2nd Place: Auckland OPEN
Robyn Lansdaal
Dave Anderson
Silvia Rueckschnat
Allister Mora3rd Place: Hawkes Bay
Sue Fox-Warren
Yvonne Lorkin
Nick Stewart
Hannes Sohnge

Next in Business, Science, and Tech

Commission Appeals Record $2.25m Fine In Vodafone FibreX Case
By: Commerce Commission
Historic Pay Equity Settlement
By: All District Health Boards
Dry Autumn In Waikato And South Auckland Leads To Drought Classification
By: Ministry For Primary Industries
Barfoot And Thompson Rental Update: Rents Up By Around 3% In Most Areas
By: Barfoot and Thompson
Smeagol The ‘Gravel Maggot’ Leaves Its Rare Mark On The Remote West Coast
By: Department of Conservation
Annual Net Migration Loss Of 7,300
By: Statistics New Zealand
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media