2018 New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards – Finalists Announced

Published: Wed 28 Mar 2018 07:14 PM
2018 New Zealand Hi-Tech Awards – Finalists Announced
Auckland, 28 March 2018.
A record number of people gathered across Auckland, Christchurch and Wellington today to hear the finalists in the 2018 NZ Hi-Tech Awards announced.
Entries this year have come in from right across the country and this is reflected in the line up of finalists this year, according to Jen Rutherford, Chair of the Hi-Tech Trust, who says the standard of entries is the highest ever seen in the history of the Awards.
“This year’s finalists span the full spectrum of the hi-tech sector and the country. For 2018 we have made a really big push to ensure even greater diversity across the board and it’s great to see so many areas of the country represented, as well as a huge increase in the number of finalists led by women. The number of finalists with female CEO’s has almost doubled year-on-year. Whilst we are not there yet, we are moving in the right direction. Our industry is truly in great shape,” says Rutherford
Several of the local judges have commented that the quality of the entrants is at an all-time high this year. They predict that the next phase of judging will prove even more challenging as they select the winners from such a strong pool of finalists.
The local judges are joined by a world class line up of international judges that include Bill Reichert, Pascal Finette, Rohit Shukla, Savannah Peterson, Dr Catherine Mohr, Claudia Batten, Dr Rosie Boswoth, Rebekah Campbell, Katherine Corich, Pat Kenealy, Richard Keyse, Nick Lambert and Andy Lark.
“We are truly thankful to all our judges both here in New Zealand and around the world who give of their own time to assist us with judging. The Hi-Tech Awards continue to be the New Zealand technology industries most important celebration of success and a wonderful showcase for our innovation and talent. Following a sell-out crowd last year, we fully anticipate the same for the 2018 Gala Dinner, which will be held at the Horncastle Arena in Christchurch on 25 May,” says Rutherford.
The 2018 Hi-Tech Awards finalists are:
PwC Hi-Tech Company of the Year
• Invenco
• Pushpay
• Serko
• Straker Translations
• Vend
Coretex Hi-Tech Emerging Company of the Year
• Ask Nicely
• Invert Robotics
• Link Engine Management
• Soul Machines
• TracPlus
New Zealand Venture Investment Fund (NZVIF) Hi-Tech Start-Up Company of the Year
• Banqer
• Code Avengers
• SwipedOn
• Wherewolf
IBM Most Inspiring Individual Award
• Peter Beck
• Katrina Clokie
• Lillian Grace
• Sue Suckling
• Nathan Torkington
Callaghan Innovation Maori Innovation Award
• Code Avengers
• Kiwa Digital
• Nikora Ngaropo Motion & Design
• Origins Sofware
• Straker Translations
• Takiwa
Duncan Cotterill Innovative Hi-Tech Software Award
• Dexibit
• RedShield Security
• Vensa Health
• Wellington Drive Technologies
Kiwibank Hi-Tech Innovative Services Award
• Beca
• Healthcare Applications
• Invenco
• Serko
Endace Innovative Hi-Tech Hardware Product Award
• Calibre Contracting Equipment
• Enatel
• MARS Bioimaging
• Ubco
Quick Circuit Best Contribution to the NZ Tech Sector by an Internationally Headquartered Company
• Dimension Data
• Enghouse Interactive
• Thinxtra
NZTE Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Agritech Sector
• Gallagher Group
• Hivetech
• Origins Software
Xero Hi-Tech Young Achiever
• Aliesha Staples
• Breccan McLeod-Lundy
• Craig Piggot
ATEED Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Creative Sector
• Dexibit
• Serato
• Shuttlerock
Visa Best Hi-Tech Solution for the Public Good
• Banqer
• Collaborate
• Healthcare Applications

Next in Business, Science, and Tech

SEEK NZ Employment Report - May
We May Have Popped Out Of A Double Dip Recession, But We’re Still Struggling…
By: Kiwi Economics
Rules For Earthquake-Prone Buildings Under Review – Expert Reaction
By: Science Media Centre
ANZ Ready To Support Northland Customers
By: ANZ Bank
Economy Limps Out Of Recession As GDP Grows 0.2%
Waikato Seismic Research May Have Global Impact
By: Earthquake Commission
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media