Candidates for 2017 Fonterra Elections Announced

Published: Fri 22 Sep 2017 12:03 PM
Friday, 22 September 2017
Candidates for 2017 Fonterra Elections Announced
Following the completion of the Self Nomination Process for the 2017 Directors’ Election Process, there are three candidates standing for three places on the Board in 2017.
The Self Nomination Process, where farmers can stand as a candidate for the Board with the support of 35 different shareholders closed on Thursday, 21 September. No shareholders have chosen to go through the Self Nomination process this year.
John Monaghan, Brent Goldsack and Andy Macfarlane were announced last week as the Independent Nomination Process candidates. All three candidates were nominated by the Fonterra Board after being recommended by the Independent Selection Panel. The process for their nomination was supported by the Shareholders’ Council in accordance with the Independent Nomination Process.
An Election is now required for Fonterra shareholders to consider the three candidates. To be elected to the Board each candidate must receive 50% shareholder support.
Fonterra Director Candidate Meetings
Fonterra shareholders have the opportunity to meet the Director candidates at seven locations throughout the country, starting in Invercargill on Monday, 16 October and finishing in Whangarei on Thursday, 19 October, as follows.
The meetings provide an opportunity for the candidates to explain how their governance skills and attributes meet the requirements of Fonterra shareholders and the Board.
DateTimeLocationVenueMonday, 16 October10.30amInvercargillAscot Park Hotel, Cnr Tay Street & Racecourse Road, InvercargillMonday, 16 October7pmAshburtonAshburton Hotel, 11/35 Racecourse Rd, Allenton, AshburtonTuesday, 17 October10.30amPalmerston NorthPalmerston North Convention Centre, 354 Main St, Palmerston NorthTuesday, 17 October7pmStratfordStratford Golf Club, Pembroke Road East, StratfordWednesday, 18 October11amRotoruaNovotel Hotel, Lake End, Tutanekai St, RotoruaWednesday, 18 October7pmHamiltonMystery Creek Events Centre, 125 Mystery Creek Rd, HamiltonThursday, 19 October11.30amWhangareiThe Barge, 474 Maunu Road, Whangarei
Directors’ Remuneration Committee Election
The Returning Officer, Warwick Lampp, confirmed there will not be an Election for the Directors’ Remuneration Committee, as shareholders Glenn Holmes and John Gregan were elected unopposed.
Shareholders’ Council Elections
Nominations have also closed for the Shareholders’ Council Elections in 25 wards. An Election is required in 10 wards, as follows:
Ward Candidate
4 – Waikato West Parmindar Singh
Ross Wallis
7 – Waipa Kevin Monks
Andrew Reymer
8 – South Waikato James Barron
Matt Clements
12 – Central Plateau Kylie Leonard
Matt Pepper
13 – Central Taranaki Noel Caskey
Mark Hooper
16 – Central Districts West Robert Ervine
Johanna Wood
18 – Wairarapa Craig Bowyer
John Stevenson
19 – Tasman/Marlborough Sue Brown
Neil Sixtus
21 – Central Canterbury Jessie Chan-Dorman
Graeme Smith
24 – Eastern Southland Emma Hammond
Richard Pierce
There was one nomination received in each of the other 15 wards, so no election is required. The formal declaration of these candidates as Shareholders’ Councillors will be made in conjunction with the results of the Elections at the Annual Meeting.
The Councillors-elect are:
Ward 1 Northern Northland Luke Beehre
Ward 2 Central Northland Sue Rhynd
Ward 3 Southern Northland Greg McCracken
Ward 5 Hauraki Julie Pirie
Ward 6 Piako Malcolm Piggott
Ward 9 King Country Duncan Coull
Ward 10 Northern Bay of Plenty Don Hammond
Ward 11 Eastern Bay of Plenty Wilson James
Ward 14 Coastal Taranaki Vaughn Brophy
Ward 15 Southern Taranaki Ben Dickie
Ward 17 Hawke’s Bay Andrew Hardie
Ward 20 North Canterbury Shaun Lissington
Ward 22 South Canterbury Michelle Pye
Ward 23 Otago Ad Bekkers
Ward 25 Western Southland Ivan Lines
Fourteen of the 15 Councillors-elect are incumbents who have been elected unopposed. The one new Councillor-elect is Luke Beehre in Ward 1 Northern Northland.
Voting Period, Voting Methods and Notification of Election Results
Voting Packs, containing candidate profiles, will be mailed to eligible shareholders on Tuesday, 10 October 2017. Shareholders can vote by internet or post, using the First Past the Post, Majority system. Voting closes at 10.30am on Tuesday, 31 October 2017 with the results being announced later that day.

Next in Business, Science, and Tech

Temporary Traffic Management Can’t Be The Scapegoat For Ineffective Systems And Planning
‘Dark Oxygen’ Discovery Underlines Need To Stop Deep Sea Mining
By: Greenpeace
What Happens When The Global Banking System ‘Goes Down’?
By: Launch PR
First-of-its-kind HIV Cure Case Among Scientific Highlights At AIDS 2024
By: International AIDS Society
Further Sesame Seed Recalls Due To Salmonella Fears
By: New Zealand Food Safety
What is CrowdStrike Falcon and what does it do? Is my computer safe?
By: The Conversation
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media