Facts About The 2017 Bayer Young Viticulturist of the Year

Published: Wed 9 Aug 2017 01:48 PM
Interesting Facts And Figures About The 2017 Bayer Young Viticulturist of the Year National Final
With the Bayer Young Viticulturist of the Year 2017 National Final looming closer (29th August 2017 at Villa Maria) the contestants are well into study mode, researching their projects, writing budgets, revising a wide range of subjects such as pests & diseases, soil nutrition, pruning, trellising and tractor skills to name but a few. Each of them is very determined to be this year’s winner.
Here are some interesting facts about the competition:
• 2017 will be the largest national final to date with SIX contestants
Tim Adams, Annabel Bulk, Ben McNab-Jones, Ben Richards, Laurie Stradling, Anthony Walsh
• SIX regions will be represented – Auckland/Northern, Central Otago, Hawke’s Bay, Marlborough, Nelson, Wairarapa
• The competition is in its TWELFTH year
Established in 2006
• THREE of the finalists will be too old (over 30) to enter next year – Tim Adams, Laurie Stradling and Anthony Walsh.
This will certainly ramp up the competition!
• Annabel Bulk is the only the FOURTH female contestant ever to be a national finalist and the FIRST since 2011.
The others were Emma Taylor and Pip Withers (2007) and Hannah Taylor (2011)
• The prize package is worth a huge $30,000
This includes use of a Hyundai Santa Fe for an entire year, $5000 AGMARDT travel grant, $2000 cash, leadership week travelling around NZ, engraved Bahco gold-plated secateurs, wine glasses from winejobsonline.
• There are SEVENTEEN generous sponsors
Bayer, Biostart, AGMARDT, Hyundai, Biomin, Constellation, Ecotrellis, Empak, Fendt, Fruitfed Supplies, Ormond Nurseries, PGG Wrightson Real Estate, Waterforce, Villa Maria, Bahco, New Zealand Winegrowers, Deane, Winejobsonline
• The Young Viticulturist of the Year has come from Hawke’s Bay FIVE times -
Emma Taylor (2007), Caine Thompson (2009), Paul Robinson (2014), Caleb Dennis (2015), Cameron Price (2016)
• A Marlborough Young Vit has won the competition THREE times
Marcus Wickham (2006), Simon Bishell (2008), Stuart Dudley (2010)
• The following regions have all had a Young Vit win the competition ONCE: Central Otago - Nick Paulin (2011), Wairarapa - Braden Crosby (2012), Gisborne - Matt Fox (2013)
• Will 2017 be the FIRST TIME the trophy goes to either the Nelson or Auckland/Northern region?
• Hawke’s Bay have won the trophy the last THREE years in a row
• SIX Young Vits have gone on to win the Young Horticulturist of the Year competition
Which region will be welcoming home the Bayer Young Viticulturist of the Year 2017? Good luck to all SIX contestant
The National Final will be held on 29th August at Villa Maria, Marlborough
The winner will be announced at the Bragato dinner on 31st August 2017

Next in Business, Science, and Tech

Feds Applauds UK-Australia Free Trade Deal
By: Federated Farmers
REINZ May Data: House Price Rises Continue; Auckland Hits New Record Median Price Again
Doubling Of Coal Use Shows Need For Local Natural Gas
By: Energy Resources Aotearoa
Debt Serviceability Restrictions Added To Policy Toolkit
By: Reserve Bank
1.4 Million In Rare Vintage Watches, Gems, Jewels & Diamonds Go Under The Hammer At Webb’s Auction On Sunday
By: Webb's
Catalist, NZ’s New SME Stock Exchange, Gets Licence To Go Public
By: Catalist
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media