Candidates for Fonterra BoD Election Confirmed

Published: Tue 13 Oct 2015 03:23 PM
13 October 2015
Candidates for Fonterra Board of Directors’ Election Confirmed
Candidates for the Fonterra Directors’ Election were announced by the Returning Officer today, following the completion of the Candidate Assessment Panel (CAP) process.
This year six candidates are standing for the Fonterra Board of Directors. They are Murray Beach, Greg Maughan, Blue Read, Nicola Shadbolt, Ashley Waugh and John Wilson.
As in previous years, the CAP process was available to assess the capabilities, experience and qualifications of Director candidates and provide Fonterra shareholders with more information to help in making an informed vote.
While the CAP process is open to all Director candidates, it is not compulsory. This year all candidates went through CAP.
The Panel, consisting of independent Chairman, John Spencer, two members appointed by the Fonterra Board, John Monaghan and Chris Moller, and two appointed by the Shareholders’ Council, Duncan Coull and independent Cathy Quinn, interviewed prospective candidates during October.
The results of the Panel’s assessment and profiles of the candidates will be sent to Fonterra shareholders with the voting papers on Friday, 30 October and will also be displayed on Farm Source via
Directors’ Election Candidate Roadshow
Fonterra shareholders have the opportunity to meet Director candidates and ask questions at the eleven Directors’ Election Candidate Roadshow meetings which are scheduled to run from Sunday, 8 November to Friday, 13 November 2015.
The dates and venues for the Roadshow meetings are:
DateTimeLocationVenueSunday, 8 November7.00pmInvercargillAscot Park Hotel
Cnr of Tay Street and Racecourse Rd
InvercargillMonday, 9 November10.30amBalcluthaSouth Otago Town & Country Club
1 Yarmouth Street, BalcluthaMonday, 9 November7.00pmOamaruBrydone Hotel
115 Thames Street, OamaruTuesday, 10 November10.30amAshburtonHotel Ashburton
11 Racecourse Road, AshburtonTuesday, 10 November7.00pmNelsonSeifrieds
184 Redwood Road, ApplebyWednesday, 11 November10.30amStratfordTET Multi Sports Centre
65 Portia Street, StratfordWednesday, 11 November7.00pmPalmerston NorthPalmerston North Convention Centre
354 Main Street, Palmerston NorthThursday, 12 November10.30amRotoruaNovotel Hotel
Lake End, Tutanekai Street, RotoruaThursday, 12 November7.00pmHamiltonMystery Creek Events Centre
125 Mystery Creek Road, HamiltonFriday, 13 November10.30amWhangareiForum North, Rust Avenue, WhangareiFriday, 13 November7.00pmPukekoheCounties Function Centre
Pukekohe Park
242-250 Manukau Road, Pukekohe
Shareholders’ Council Elections
Elections for the Fonterra Shareholders’ Council are required in four wards as follows:
Ward Candidate
14 – Eastern Bay of Plenty Gerard van Beek
Wilson James
17 – Northern Taranaki Mark Hooper
Kevin Turnbull
23 – Hawke’s Bay Eliot Cooper
David Hands
Andrew Hardie
Ivan Knauf
26 – Tasman / Marlborough Sue Brown
Neil Sixtus
Wayne Langford
There was one nomination received in each of the other eight wards, so no election is required.
The formal declaration of these candidates as Shareholders’ Councillors will be made in conjunction with the results of the elections at the Annual Meeting.
The Councillors-elect are:
Ward 2 Central Northland Penny Smart
Ward 5 Hauraki / Coromandel Julie Pirie
Ward 8 Matamata Grant Wills
Ward 11 Te Awamutu Kevin Ferris
Ward 20 Egmont Plains Rob Poole
Ward 29 Ashburton Charles Whitehead
Ward 32 Otago Ad Bekkers
Ward 35 Western Southland Vaughan Templeton
All eight Councillors-elect are incumbents who have been elected unopposed.
All successful candidates take office at the close of the 2015 Fonterra Annual Meeting on Wednesday, 25 November 2015.
Directors’ Remuneration Committee Election
The Returning Officer, Warwick Lampp, also confirmed there will not be an election for the Directors’ Remuneration Committee, as shareholders David Gasquoine and Stephen Silcock have been elected unopposed.
Voting Period, Voting Methods and Notification of Election Results
Voting Packs, containing candidate profiles, will be mailed to eligible shareholders on Friday, 30 October 2015. Shareholders can vote by internet, fax or post, using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system.
The voting period is from Friday, 30 October until 10.30am on Monday, 23 November 2015 with the results being announced later that day.

Next in Business, Science, and Tech

NAIT Levy Increases Must Achieve Accurate, User-friendly System
By: Federated Farmers
More Job Opportunities, But Growth In Workers’ Earnings Remains Subdued
By: Westpac
Card Spending Continues To Increase As COVID-19 Restrictions Ease
By: Statistics New Zealand
Job Market Ends 2021 On A High With Record Number Of Vacancies
By: Trade Me Jobs
September South Island Windstorm Cost $36.5 M Raises 2021 Extreme Weather Claims Total To $321.6 M
By: Insurance Council of New Zealand
Building Consents Hit New Highs In November
By: Statistics New Zealand
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media