Calling all Waikato property heroes!

Published: Tue 22 Sep 2015 03:09 PM
Calling all Waikato property heroes!
Nominations for Waikato’s highly anticipated We Are Waikato awards are now open.
The annual We Are Waikato Awards are a popular event for the local property industry and business community to celebrate outstanding contributions to the region’s built environment and economy.
In its fifth year running, the six award categories include those that focus on individuals with outstanding leadership and consultancy skills, and the up-and-comers.
Graham Dwyer, former Waikato Branch president who sits on the judging panel, says the panel is looking forward to assessing the nominations which will undoubtedly demonstrate the quality of expertise that make the industry successful.
"The calibre of our nominees is something for the region to be proud of and that’s what’s so important about this night. It serves as a manifestation of the high standard of development happening in the Waikato. This event is about the people driving progress in the region we are so passionate about.
“It is important for everyone in the industry to see and recognise the efforts lifting the standard. “This year we are particularly excited about choosing the recipients of the Young Achiever of the Year Award, Property Industry Consultant of the Year Award and Outstanding Leadership Award.”
The Young Achiever of the Year Award will go to an individual under 35 years for their exceptional contribution to their organisation or the property industry in general or on a specific project.
The Property Industry Consultant of the Year Award will go to an individual that has helped support growth and development in the region. Their role has enabled projects to run with efficiency, helping make the entire process easier. The recipient can be from any area of property practice, such as finance, engineering, law, planning, surveying, valuation, or management.
The Outstanding Leadership Award will go to an individual who has outstanding leadership skills to drive progress in the Waikato via a particular project, leading and managing a team, or providing strategic direction.
“Waikato is incredibly important to the rest of New Zealand. We want to highlight its skill and talent pool through these awards. It is not just for Property Council members, but anyone across the public and private sector who has committed themselves to progress and prosperity.”
Waikato Branch president Rob Dol urges property professionals to nominate a colleague, client, or themselves.
"We Are Waikato is a great event to be a part of. It's a chance to relax and celebrate with industry peers and give each other a well-deserved pat on the back."
Nominations close on 8 October. The event will be held on 12 November at Wintec House. The categories are:
Young Achiever of the Year - Steven Alsemgeest Memorial Award
Long Service Award for Outstanding Contribution
Property Industry Associate of the Year
Outstanding Leadership
Urban Design and Architectural Merit
Best Regional Project Team
The event is sponsored by Staples Rodway, Fletcher Construction, Hawkins, Holmes Consulting Group, Tainui Group Holdings, Arrow International, BNZ, Foster Construction, Rider Levett Bucknall.
For more information contact Tracey Plank on or visit:

Next in Business, Science, and Tech

SEEK NZ Employment Report - May
We May Have Popped Out Of A Double Dip Recession, But We’re Still Struggling…
By: Kiwi Economics
Rules For Earthquake-Prone Buildings Under Review – Expert Reaction
By: Science Media Centre
ANZ Ready To Support Northland Customers
By: ANZ Bank
Economy Limps Out Of Recession As GDP Grows 0.2%
Waikato Seismic Research May Have Global Impact
By: Earthquake Commission
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media