Quiz the candidates, says DairyNZ

Published: Mon 14 Sep 2015 02:11 PM
Quiz the candidates, says DairyNZ
As voting gets underway today for DairyNZ's 2015 elections, this year farmers are encouraged to get involved and question the director candidates.
Ten farmers have put their hands up for three seats on DairyNZ's Board of Directors - voting for which opened at 12noon today (Monday, September 14). The dairy industry body's second election involves four candidates for three spots on the Directors' Remuneration Committee (DRC).
But it is the Board of Director candidates who will this year participate in an online Q<>, where any farmer can put a question to all 10 candidates - and get the candidates' answers published online.
DairyNZ corporate communications manager Bernie Walsh encourages voters to learn about the candidates, before casting their votes. "Levy paying farmers should receive their voter packs this week - where they can read about all candidates.
"They can also learn more about them at, where their 14 profiles<> are and where questions can be put to the director candidates. Usually our director elections only get around 20 percent of farmer levy payers turning out to vote. It would be great to see many more having their say this year when we have such a large field of candidates stepping up to take part in the process. Sharemilkers and farm owners can both vote in our elections," says Bernie.
"Directors govern DairyNZ's investment priorities and decide how farmers' levy money is spent, so they carry out an important leadership role on behalf of the industry. Farmer levy payers can vote by the internet, post or fax until 12noon October 12 - or in person at the Annual General Meeting."
The farmers seeking a four-year term as a DairyNZ director are vying for election following chairman John Luxton and directors Michael Spaans and Ben Allomes retiring by rotation. Mr Spaans and Mr Allomes are standing for re-election but after 12 years, Mr Luxton is standing down from the board.
Election results will be announced at the DairyNZ Annual General Meeting in Morrinsville on October 13.
The Board of Directors candidates are:
- Murray Jamieson (Hamilton)
- Steve Hines (Mangakino, Waikato)
- Elaine Cook (Hamilton)
- Grant Wills (Walton, Waikato)
- Ben Allomes (Woodville, Palmerston North)
- Michelle Wilson (Waihi, Waikato)
- Kevin Ferris (Te Awamutu, Waikato)
- Greg Maughan (Marton, Manawatu)
- Michael Spaans (Te Aroha, Waikato)
- Kevin Old (Lincoln, Canterbury).
The second election is for three members of the DRC, which annually reviews and recommends changes to directors' payments and other benefits.
The four DRC candidates are:
- Chris Lewis (Pukeatua, Waikato)
- David Gasquoine (Matamata, Waikato)
- Gerard Wolvers (Te Awamutu, Waikato)
- Harry Rich (Taupiri, Waikato).
All dairy farmers including sharemilkers who pay a levy on milksolids can vote in both elections. Farmers who haven't received a voter pack by the end of September can contact or telephone 0800 666 030.
View candidate profiles
<> and the Q<> at
For other election information visit

Next in Business, Science, and Tech

‘Cuts In Context’ Report Launch And Visual Display At Parliament Today
By: Taxpayers' Union
Conference Win Will Showcase Auckland’s AI Capability
By: Tataki Auckland Unlimited
Retail Activity Up In March 2024 Quarter After Eight Declines
By: Stats NZ
Farewell Anchor, Fresh'n Fruity And Mainland: What’s Behind Fonterra’s Decision To Sell Its Consumer Brands?
By: The Conversation
Broadband Prices In 223 Countries Revealed. New Zealand Ranks In 128th Place - Do Kiwis Pay Too Much?
By: NZ Compare
DIA & SkyCity Reach Settlement Agreement For Anti-Money Laundering And Countering Financing Of Terrorism Breaches
By: Department Of Internal Affairs
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media