New faces take up key committee roles

Published: Thu 3 Nov 2016 01:59 PM
3 November 2016
New faces take up key committee roles
ORC’s committee structure for 2016-19 sees some experienced councillors taking on new governance challenges and all four new councillors being appointed to chairmanship or deputy roles.
The same major standing committees – Policy, Technical, Finance and Corporate, Communications, and Regulatory – which were in place during the 2013-16 term – remain, but will be reviewed next year.
ORC chairman Stephen Woodhead said the lineup for 2016-19 had a balanced mix of experienced and newly-elected councillors in chairmanship and deputy roles.
“With the significant workload we have ahead of us from a governance perspective over the next three years. I am confident we are well equipped to provide the political leadership our staff and our communities require,” Mr Woodhead said.
The committee lineup is (*denotes newly-elected councillor):
Policy committee
Chairwoman: Cr Gretchen Robertson.
Deputy: Cr Michael Laws.*
Technical committee
Chairwoman: Cr Maggie Lawton.*
Deputy: Cr Stephen Woodhead.
Finance and corporate committee
Chairman: Cr Doug Brown.
Deputy: Cr Andrew Noone.*
Communications Committee
Chairman: Cr Michael Deaker.
Deputy: Cr Carmen Hope.*
Regulatory Committee
Chairman: Cr Bryan Scott.
Deputy: Cr Sam Neill.
Otago Regional Transport Committee
Chairman: Cr Trevor Kempton.
Deputy: Cr Graeme Bell.

Next in New Zealand politics

Finance And Expenditure Committee Meeting On Cash Use, Digital Cash And Community Cash Trials
By: The Reserve Bank of New Zealand
Minister To Singapore For Defence, Technology Talks
By: New Zealand Government
People-powered Fight Back Against The Coalition For Climate Crisis
By: Green Party
The Week in Politics: Willis sails against strong headwinds
A Balanced Foreign Affairs Budget
By: New Zealand Government
New Social Housing Places To Support Families Into Homes
By: New Zealand Government
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media