Fifteeen Candidates Stand In Mt Albert By-Election

Published: Tue 19 May 2009 02:19 PM
Media Release
Tuesday 19 May 2009
Chief Electoral Office
Ministry of Justice
Fifteeen Candidates Stand In Mt Albert By-Election
The Chief Electoral Office has released the details of who is standing and where people can vote in the 13 June Mt Albert by-election.
Fifteen candidates are seeking selection as the Mt Albert electorate Member of Parliament.
Nominations for the by-election have closed. The following candidates have been confirmed:
Candidate Name/Party
• Jim Bagnall/Independent
• Ari Baker/Independent
• John Boscawen/ACT New Zealand
• Ben Boyce/The Bill and Ben Party
• Simonne Dyer/Kiwi Party
• Malcolm France/People Before Profit
• Dakta Green/Aotearoa Legalise Cannabis Party
• Rusty Kane/The Peoples Choice Party
• Melissa Lee/National Party
• Russel Norman/Green Party
• Julian Pistorius/Libertarianz
• David Shearer/Labour Party
• Judy Turner/United Future
• Anthony Joseph James Van Den Heuvel/Human Rights Party
• Jackson James Wood/Independent
“The Chief Electoral Office now moves immediately to get the Mt Albert by-election ballot papers printed and distributed in time for the start of advance voting in just over a week, Wednesday 27 May,” says Robert Peden, Chief Electoral Officer.
Advance voting is available for Mt Albert voters who will find it difficult to get to a polling place on election day, Saturday 13 June.
“Unlike a general election, there will be no polling places open outside the Mt Albert electorate on election day. Therefore, Mt Albert voters who will be outside their electorate on election day should vote in advance,” says Mr Peden.
Advance voting will be available in the Mt Albert electorate at:
- Coverstaff Office, 509 Rosebank Road
- Mt Albert Electorate Headquarters, Unit 1, 49 Sainsbury Road
- Mt Albert Community Library, 84 St Lukes Road
- Pt Chevalier Community Library, corner Great North & Pt Chevalier Roads
- Sandringham Bowling Club, Kiwitea Street
“Mt Albert voters can also vote in advance at any Registrar of Electors’ office across the country or at the Chief Electoral Office in Wellington,” says Mr Peden.
On election day, Saturday 13 June, there will be 28 polling places in the Mt Albert electorate.
This is the same number of polling places as was available for the 2008 general election.
Mt Albert By-Election Polling Places

Next in New Zealand politics

On Whether This Election Is Already A Foregone Conclusion
By: Gordon Campbell
Newshub-Reid Research Poll Shows National Rising But Labour Still Governing Alone
By: Mediaworks
SFO Files Charges In Relation To NZ First Foundation Donations
By: Serious Fraud Office
Business Leaders’ Confidence Tanks As Top Kiwi CEOs Vent Their Frustrations
By: New Zealand Media and Entertainment
Taking Action To Reduce Waste And Plastics
By: New Zealand Labour Party
On Last Night’s Leaders Debate
By: Gordon Campbell
Dunne Speaks: The Election Campaign Just Grinds Slowly On And On
By: Peter Dunne
Electoral Commission: Candidate And Party Lists Released
By: Electoral Commission
National Releases Its Plan To Restore NZ’s Prosperity
By: New Zealand National Party
The 2020 New Zealand Election Is Not A Foregone Conclusion.
By: Keith Rankin
Overseas Voting Starts On Wednesday
By: Electoral Commission
Politicians To Go Head To Head On Education Issues In Election Debate
By: NZEI Te Riu Roa
New Zealand First Fully Exonerated Of All SFO Charges
By: New Zealand First Party
Links to two judgments in the SFO's NZ First Foundation case
By: New Zealand High Court
Green Party Responds To NZ First Foundation SFO Charges
By: Green Party
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media