First Governing Council Of The New Zealand Institute Of Skills And Technology (NZIST)

Published: Wed 18 Mar 2020 03:22 PM
Education Minister Chris Hipkins today announced seven appointments to the first governing council of the NZIST, established from 1 April 2020.
The announcement follows the naming yesterday of directors who will serve on the boards of subsidiary Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics (ITPs).
“I welcome the important skills and experience these appointees bring to the leadership of the NZIST,” Chris Hipkins said.
“We can all appreciate the challenges our country, our businesses, our people – and our training and education institutions – are facing right now.
“It’s clearly not business as usual but we need to carry on, and keep up momentum. This remains a crucially important time for our vocational education sector.
“Substantial change is needed to achieve this Government’s aim that all New Zealanders are equipped to be successful in the 21st century with the transferable knowledge and skills to take on different types of work throughout their careers.
“We’re creating something new here – we need new ways of thinking, doing, delivering. There are huge changes taking place in the world around us, and our reforms recognise that learning is no longer limited to a classroom.
“The NZIST will be at the forefront of that change and must also ensure high standards of teaching and learning are maintained and enhanced across the sector.
“Five of the new appointees have served on the Establishment Board for the NZIST, since 1 August 2019, and have worked hard to ensure the NZIST can be effective from day one.
“I also wish to recognise and thank members of the Establishment Board who are not going forward to the NZIST Council for their valuable service. They are Chair of the Establishment Board, Barry Jordan, and members Sandra Grey, Brett O’Riley and Linda Sissons.
“They have shown energy and commitment in their board role and in leading work-streams, strong engagement with stakeholders, and made a real contribution to the Government’s reform programme,” Chris Hipkins said.
The new appointments are made for four years and former members of the Establishment Board are appointed for three years:Chair of the NZIST Council: Murray StrongDeputy Chair: Kim NgārimuMaryann GeddesKathy GrantTania HodgesSam HuggardPeter Winder
Two further appointments are due to be made in the next few weeks and three members will be added to the council once elections can be held for staff, student and Māori representatives.

Next in New Zealand politics

On The Twitter Wars, And The Muller Muddles
By: Gordon Campbell
Green Party Statement On The Death Of George Floyd
By: Green Party
Freshwater package backed by comprehensive economic analysis
By: New Zealand Government
Todd Muller announces shape of next Government
By: New Zealand National Party
On National’s Day Of Reckoning
By: Gordon Campbell
Jobs budget to get economy moving again
By: New Zealand Government
Queen's Birthday Honours List 2020
By: New Zealand Government
Support For Arts And Music Sector Recovery
By: New Zealand Government
New Zealand Joins Global Search For COVID-19 Vaccine
By: New Zealand Government
Green Party Unveils Its Candidate List For The 2020 Election
By: Green Party
NZ COVID Tracer App Released To Support Contact Tracing
By: Ministry of Health
Deep Concern At Hong Kong National Security Legislation
By: New Zealand Government
SPEECH: Todd Muller - Families, Communities, Small Business
By: New Zealand National Party
National Backs Businesses With $10k JobStart
By: New Zealand National Party
Todd Muller Elected Leader Of The New Zealand National Party
By: New Zealand National Party
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media