PM’s Business Scholarship recipients to grow skills

Published: Mon 10 Dec 2018 07:55 PM
PM’s Business Scholarship recipients to grow skills
Eight up and coming business leaders will boost their skills and lift New Zealand’s management capability through the 2018 Prime Minister’s Business Scholarships.
Recipients of the Scholarships announced today include leaders from a range of industries including manufacturing, retail, technology, and food and beverage.
They will study programmes at international business schools like INSEAD, the Harvard Business School and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
“We are building a modern economy fit for the 21st century, and supporting our business people to be the best in the world supports that goal,” Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern said.
“This is a wonderful opportunity to learn from international experts, build global networks and knowledge, and grow the skills needed to make sure Kiwi businesses are making the best possible contribution to the economy,” Economic Development Minister David Parker said.
“To compete in the global market or increase productivity, our business executives need to be up with the latest in international business practice and strategy.
“These opportunities are not always readily available in New Zealand. The Scholarships provide access to the best business education resources in the world, and the Government is pleased to assist in making this possible.”
This year the scholarship criteria were expanded to include domestic focused firms. There was also a greater focus on attracting more women, Māori and Pasifika applicants.
“We selected people representing a great mix of companies from a field of high quality applicants,” David Parker said.
The Scholarships fund 50 per cent of the cost of overseas study at an international business school, up to a maximum value of $110,000.
The 2018 Prime Minister’s Business Scholarships recipients are:
Husain Al-Badry, Datacom Systems Ltd
John Stubbs, Shoof International Ltd
Daryl Joyce, RML Engineering Ltd
Kylie Bryant, ASB Bank Ltd
Linda Waddington-Miller, Lion - Beer, Spirits & Wine (NZ) Ltd
Quinton Hall, Ngāi Tahu Tourism Ltd
Sacha Coburn, Coffee Culture Franchises Ltd
Vanessa Oakley, Chorus Ltd

Next in New Zealand politics

View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media