Appointments to Conservation Authority

Published: Fri 19 Aug 2011 03:42 PM
Hon Kate Wilkinson
Minister of Conservation
19 August 2011
Appointments to Conservation Authority
Minister of Conservation Kate Wilkinson today announced eight new appointments to the New Zealand Conservation Authority, the body which oversees the policies that govern how public conservation land is managed.
The Authority will also have a new chairperson, with Dr Kay Booth taking over the role from Don Ross.
Ms Wilkinson says Dr Booth brought a wealth of experience to the role.
“Kay has been a member of the Conservation Authority for six years and I am delighted that she has agreed to take on this important leadership role.”
The new appointees are John Thorburn of Christchurch, Dr Warren Parker of Rotorua, Jo Breese of Wellington, Judy Hellstrom of Picton, Dr Gerry McSweeney of Arthur’s Pass, Professor Mick Clout of Manurewa, Sandra Cook of Otautau and Ian Buchanan of Greytown.
Yvonne Sharp, Waana Davis, Hally Toia, and Brian Stephenson have been reappointed for a further term on the Authority, alongside Dr Booth.
“The Authority has a pivotal role in planning for the management of the public conservation land and resources over the medium to long term.
“It is fantastic to have such a broad range of highly experienced people on board for that purpose."
Ms Wilkinson says she wished to thank chair Don Ross and the other outgoing members of the Authority – John Nankervis, Linda Conning, Mike Browne, Louise Savage, Basil Morrison and Charles Crofts - for their contributions.

Next in New Zealand politics

Expert Group Appointed To Lead New Zealand’s Future Health System
By: New Zealand Government
Kiwis Overseas Must Be Allowed To Vote Next Year
By: Green Party
Keeping our Police safe to keep our communities safe
By: New Zealand Government
Power bill changes bring fairness to charges
By: New Zealand Government
Govt parks the expiry of licenses, WoFs and regos
By: New Zealand Government
Highest jump in weekly benefit numbers since first lockdown
By: Child Poverty Action Group
Bay Of Plenty District Health Board Chair Sharon Shea Appointed Co-Chair Of The Māori Health Authority
By: Bay of Plenty District Health Board
Senior Doctors Call For Strong Clinical Voice To Lead Health Reforms
By: Association of Salaried Medical Specialists
NZMA Welcomes Health System Board Appointments
Improving The Safety And Capability Of Frontline Police
By: New Zealand Police
Increasing Dangers Of Current Policing Recognised - Police Association
By: NZ Police Association
Govt Finally Sees Sense On Armed Response Teams
By: New Zealand National Party
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media