Four new members join city boards

Published: Fri 21 Dec 2007 01:40 PM
21 December 2007
Four new members join city boards
Trade Me executive Mike O’Donnell is one of four new members appointed by Wellington City Council to four Council-controlled organisations.
He has been appointed to the board of Positively Wellington Tourism for the next three years. Te Papa manager Rhondu Paku joins the board of the Wellington Museums Trust, leaky buildings assessor Peter Leslie has been appointed to the board of Capacity, and Gas Industry CEO Christine Southey joins Wellington Cable Car Ltd.
Mike O’Donnell has been head of Commercial for Trade Me since 2004. He is in charge of Trade Me Motors, Trade Me Property and Trade Me Jobs, as well as being responsible for business development and government relations.
Rhonda Paku is Manager Iwi Development for National Services Te Paerangi at Te Papa. In this role she provides strategic and practical advice to iwi, museums and a broad range of government and heritage organisations that Te Papa works with.
Peter Leslie is Executive Director of the facilities management and maintenance Company PAE (New Zealand) Ltd. Mr Leslie is an assessor for the Weathertight Homes Resolution Service, a consultant to the Department of Building and Housing and he has recently been working as a consultant to Capacity.
Christine Southey was appointed Gas Industry Company Chief Executive in May 2005. Before that she was a Commissioner on the Electricity Commission from 2003 and has an extensive background in the energy sector. She was formerly a partner in a national law firm.
The Council has also announced the appointment of Viv Beck as Chair of the Wellington Museums Trust with the retirement of former Chair Bill Brien. Ms Beck has served three years on the board. Seven present board members have been reappointed: Wellington Zoo Trust (Philip Meyer and Frances Russell), Wellington Waterfront Limited (Stephen Kos and David Pritchard), Wellington Cable Car Limited (Jeremy Ward), St James Theatre Trust (Pele Walker) and Wellington International Airport Limited (Denis Thom).
The Council paid tribute to retiring members: Bill Brien for his work as Chair of the Wellington Museums Trust; Ian Wells, board member of Positively Wellington Tourism; Simon Marsh, board member of the Wellington Museums Trust; John Rutledge, board member of Wellington Cable Car Limited and Carol Stigley, board member of the St James Theatre Trust.

Next in New Zealand politics

2021 Register Of Pecuniary And Other Specified Interests Presented
By: Office of the Speaker
Budget Boosts Carbon Neutral Government Commitment
By: New Zealand Government
Govt To Rev Up Reductions In Transport Emissions
By: New Zealand Government
Child Wellbeing Reports Highlight Need For Ongoing Action
By: New Zealand Government
Statement On The Speaker And Annual Review Debate
By: New Zealand Government
Independent Review To Explore Future For Local Government
By: New Zealand Government
Government Report Shows Children Made To Suffer Unnecessarily
By: Child Poverty Action Group
Māori And Pacific Children Failed By Government
By: ACT New Zealand
Future For Local Government Initiative A Historic Opportunity For New Zealand
By: Local Government NZ
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media