Whips elected

Published: Tue 1 Nov 2005 01:05 PM
1 November 2005
Whips elected
Prime Minister Helen Clark said today that Christchurch Central MP Tim Barnett has been elected as the Senior Government Whip, and Otaki MP Darren Hughes has been elected as the Junior Government Whip.
Both MPs were elected unopposed at this morning's meeting of the Labour caucus.
Mr Barnett has been an MP for nine years, during which time he has served as Chair of the Justice and Electoral Select Committee.
Mr Hughes has been an MP for three years, and was first elected as Junior Whip in February 2004.
Helen Clark congratulated the MPs on their new positions.
"Tim and Darren are very experienced in the workings of Parliament and have a strong knowledge of the Standing Orders, qualities which will serve them well during this term of Parliament."

Next in New Zealand politics

Sam Uffindell Stood Down Pending Investigation
By: New Zealand National Party
Auditor-General's Submission On The Water Services Entities Bill
By: Office of the Auditor-General
Speech To The 2022 National Party Annual Conference
By: New Zealand National Party
Abuse Revelations Leave No Choice But To Overhaul RSE Scheme
By: Green Party
More Women On Public Boards Than Ever Before
By: New Zealand Government
Debbie Ngarewa-Packer Calls On PM To Support Bill To Ban Seabed Mining
By: Te Pati Maori
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media