Minister announces DHB chairs and deputies - List

Published: Thu 21 Dec 2000 01:56 PM
Hon Annette King
Minister of Health, Minister for Racing
21 December 2000 Media Statement
Minister announces DHB chairs and deputies
Confirmation of District Health Board chairs and deputy chairs were announced today by Health Minister Annette King.
"This is the first formal step towards creating a more open and accountable health system for our communities since the passing of the Government's health and disability legislation earlier this month," said Mrs King.
"The boards will come into effect officially from January 1 next year, though some responsibilities will be devolved more gradually than that."
It is expected that the boards' first public meetings will be held in February.
Mrs King says she is pleased most chairpersons of the Hospital and Health Service (HHS) boards have made themselves available to stay on to lead the new District Health Boards (DHBs).
"I think it is important we have as much continuity as possible heading into the first board elections in October 2001," said Mrs King.
Most of the new board appointments have now been confirmed, though the Minister will make further appointments to some boards early in the new year.
List of DHB chairs and deputy chairs follows….
Northland Mr Wayne Brown Chair
Mrs Lynette Stewart Deputy Chair
Waitemata Mrs Alison Paterson Chair
Dr Eric Stephens Deputy Chair
Auckland Mr Richard Waddel Chair
Mr Brian Corban Deputy Chair
Counties Manakau Mr Ross Keenan Chair
Dr Peter Jansen Deputy Chair
Waikato Mr Ian Wilson Chair
Mr Dave McPherson Deputy Chair
Bay of Plenty Mr Robin Wray Chair
Mr Mark Arundel Deputy Chair
Lakes Mrs Judith Stanway Chair
Mr Alan Vane Deputy Chair
Tairawhiti Mr Wayne Brown Chair
To be confirmed Deputy Chair
Taranaki Mr Hayden Wano Chair
Mr John Auld Deputy Chair
Whanganui Mr Graeme Meyers Chair
Mrs Kay Tipene-Stevenson Deputy Chair
Hawke’s Bay Mr Kevin Atkinson Chair
Mr David Ritchie Acting Deputy Chair
Wairarapa Mr Doug Matheson Chair
Mr Alan Stewart Deputy Chair
MidCentral Mr Ian Wilson Chair
Mr Piers Hamid Deputy Chair
Capital & Coast Mr Bob Henare Chair
Mr John McEnteer Deputy Chair
Hutt Mr Warren Young Chair
Hon Margaret Shields Deputy Chair
Nelson Marlborough Mr Nigel McFadden Chair
Mr Brian Kerridge Deputy Chair
West Coast Mrs Marian van der Goes Chair
Mr John Hunter Deputy Chair
Canterbury Mr Syd Bradley Chair
Dr David Kerr Deputy Chair
South Canterbury Mr Joe Butterfield Chair
Mr Roger Bonifant Deputy Chair
Otago Mr Ross Black Chair
Mr Michael Coburn Deputy Chair
Southland Mr Rick Bettle Chair
Mr Warren Conway Deputy Chair

Next in New Zealand politics

Protesters at Ihumātao served eviction notices
Law Commission recommends new law for dividing property
By: Law Commission
Shots fired to warn fleeing driver in Huntly not justified
By: Independent Police Conduct Authority
Gordon Campbell on Kiwis being the Aussies’ Pacific go-fers
By: Gordon Campbell
Trades Hall bombing case re-opened, evidence released
Govt targets fewer deaths on the road
By: New Zealand Government
Teachers unions to take legal action against Novopay
Law Commission Report of Property (Relationships) Act 1976
By: New Zealand Government
Greenpeace tower climbers unfurl first banner
By: Greenpeace New Zealand
Greenpeace climbers scaling Wellington’s tallest building
By: Greenpeace New Zealand
Greenpeace protest is ignorant grandstanding
Police accepts IPCA findings
By: New Zealand Police
Officer accused of sexual assault and breach of privacy
By: Independent Police Conduct Authority
Police pursuit in Auckland that resulted in collision
By: Independent Police Conduct Authority
Speech: Ardern - Why does good government matter?
By: New Zealand Government
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media