Security Committee Members To Be Approved

Published: Tue 20 Mar 2012 11:12 AM
Security Committee Members To Be Approved
Appointments to the Intelligence and Security Committee will be confirmed when Parliament resumes today.
On top of the Order Paper is the first reading of the Appropriation (2010/11 Financial Review) Bill which is taken without debate.
Then is the Government’s Notice of Motion No 1 which endorses John Banks and Peter Dunne as the Prime Minister’s nominations to the Intelligence and Security Committee and Russel Norman as the Leader of the Opposition’s nominee.
The committee is intended to oversee the operations of agencies such as the SIS, but in the past has been criticised by some for rarely meeting.
MPs will then return to the committee stage of the Search and Surveillance Bill which will probably take up the most of today’s business.
** is a breaking news source for New Zealand parliamentary business featuring broadcast daily news reports.

Next in Comment

Biden In Tokyo: Killing Strategic Ambiguity
By: Binoy Kampmark
Dunne Speaks: Robertson's Budget Gamble On Treasury
By: Peter Dunne
Liberal Democracy In The New Neonationalist Era: The Three 'O's
By: Keith Rankin
Infrastructure Commission wants digital strategy
By: Digitl
Leaking For Roe V Wade
By: Binoy Kampmark
Cheaper food comes with other costs – why cutting GST isn't the answer
By: The Conversation
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media