NewsFlash: Carter, Dyson &Tamihere New Ministers

Published: Mon 12 Aug 2002 02:10 PM
(NOTE: This post corrects and replaces earlier posting.)
The Cabinet for the Labour/Progressive Coalition minority Government has just been announced following elections held at a Labour Party caucus meeting this morning.
According to the Labour Party Constitution the members of cabinet are elected by the caucus.
The 16 Labour Ministers from the last cabinet were re-elected. Jim Anderton of the Progressive Coalition has also been promised his position.
The new ministers are:
Chris Carter
Ruth Dyson
John Tamihere
All the new ministers were elected on the first ballot.
Portfolio allocations will be announced on Wednesday. The PM has still to announce ministers outside Cabinet, undersecretaries and the positions of the ministers.
(NOTE: This post corrects earlier report….)
Alastair Thompson
Scoop Publisher
Alastair Thompson is the co-founder of Scoop. He is of Scottish and Irish extraction and from Wellington, New Zealand. Alastair has 24 years experience in the media, at the Dominion, National Business Review, North & South magazine, Straight Furrow newspaper and online since 1997. He is the winner of several journalism awards for business and investigative work.
Contact Alastair Thompson
Media Contact:
Postal Address:
Physical Address:

Next in Comment

Boris Johnson At Sea: Coronavirus Confusion In The UK
By: Binoy Kampmark
Foreign Correspondent: Rightwing Populism Will Make You Sick—Really
By: Reese Erlich
Dunne Speaks: Early Voting Is OK, If You Know Who To Vote For
By: Peter Dunne
Biodiversity: Where The World Is Making Progress – And Where It’s Not
By: The Conversation
On The Recession, And On Trump’s Current Chances Of Re-election
By: Gordon Campbell
Rogue Poll Or Not, All The Signs Point To A Tectonic Shift In New Zealand Politics
By: The Conversation
The Coronavirus Republic: Three Million Infections And Rising
By: Binoy Kampmark
Altars Of Hypocrisy: George Floyd, Protest And Black Face
By: Binoy Kampmark
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media