INDEPENDENT NEWS

UC gains $6.5m funds

Published: Wed 6 Nov 2019 08:56 AM
Twelve University of Canterbury-led research projects have been given the green light by the 2019 Marsden Fund Te Pūtea Rangahau to the total of $6.54 million in diverse fields of research. The research covers four of UC’s five colleges, and includes research in engineering, management, computer science and software engineering, linguistics, political science and te reo as well as physical, chemical and biological sciences.
UC Deputy Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Wright says the latest Marsden Fund grants – which includes six Fast-start grants of $300,000 each and six standard grants of between $530,000 and $960,000 over three years –recognise UC as a world-class research-led teaching and learning university.
“UC is a place where world-class research happens, as these 12 grants attest. The benefit for UC students is that they are taught by academics who are world leaders in their fields. I am, as ever, impressed by the high calibre of our innovative UC researchers who work at the cutting edge of New Zealand and international research.”
The UC Marsden-funded research announced today includes:
• It looks grim: The future of Māori academics in New Zealand universities ($300,000) Dr Tyron Love, Management, Marketing and Entrepreneurship, UC Business & Law, tyron.love@canterbury.ac.nz
• Exposing the intricate interactions of membrane-bound bacterial machinery ($300,000) Dr Tim Allison, Physical & Chemical Sciences, UC Science, timothy.allison@canterbury.ac.nz
• Could airborne microplastics play a role in climate change? ($300,000) Dr Laura Revell, Physical & Chemical Sciences, UC Science, laura.revell@canterbury.ac.nz
• Does sexual selection drive the evolution of sex-biased gene expression? ($300,000) Dr Sarah Flanagan, Biological Sciences, UC Science, sarah.flanagan@canterbury.ac.nz
• Engineering defect-free metal organic framework membranes in tubular ceramic supports ($300,000), Dr Matthew Cowan, Chemical & Process Engineering, UC Engineering, matthew.cowan@canterbury.ac.nz
• Unravelling molecular details of protein interactions that drive Alzheimer’s disease ($300,000) Dr Vanessa Morris, Biological Sciences, UC Science, vanessa.morris@canterbury.ac.nz
• Understanding the human experience of intelligent user interfaces ($530,000) Professor Andrew Cockburn, Computer Science & Software Engineering, UC Engineering, andrew.cockburn@canterbury.ac.nz
• Awakening the proto-lexicon ($660,000) Professor Jeanette King, New Zealand Institute of Language, Brain and Behaviour (NZILBB)/Aotahi School of Māori and Indigenous Studies, UC Arts, j.king@canterbury.ac.nz
• Issue mapping and analysing the lethal autonomous weapons debate ($842,000) Dr Jeremy Moses and Associate Professor Amy Fletcher, Language, Social & Political Science, UC Arts, jeremy.moses@canterbury.ac.nz, amy.fletcher@canterbury.ac.nz
• Tracking the emergence of presemantic lexical knowledge ($858,000) Professor Jen Hay, NZILBB/Language, Social & Political Science, UC Arts, jen.hay@canterbury.ac.nz
• Understanding bacterial membrane transport proteins: setting an antimicrobial TRAP ($890,000) Professor Ren Dobson, BIC/Biological Sciences, UC Science, renwick.dobson@canterbury.ac.nz
• Molecular wiring of graphene with organic films: optically transparent charge selective electrode materials for efficient solar energy conversion ($960,000), Dr Paula Brooksby, Chemistry, UC Science, paula.brooksby@canterbury.ac.nz

Next in Lifestyle

NZ Fringe 2020 has launched
By: New Zealand Fringe Festival
Three Stocking Stuffers from Te Papa Press
By: Howard Davis
Prime Minster Delivers Erebus Apology
By: New Zealand Government
Margaret Atwood announces three NZ tour dates
By: Fane
Auckland Fringe Announces New Festival Director
By: Auckland Fringe
2019 NZ Comedy Guild Awards handed out
By: New Zealand Comedy Guild
Private ceremony marks Erebus 40 years on
By: RNZ
Seymour commends PM on Erebus apology
By: ACT New Zealand
Speech by NZ Airline Association President on Mt Erebus
By: New Zealand Airline Pilots' Association
EREBUS Civic Service for 40th anniverary
By: Erebus National Memorial
Mt Erebus disaster: The Police story - Police Museum
By: New Zealand Police
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media