Finalists For The 2020 Forsyth Barr Hawke’s Bay Sports Awards Announced

Published: Thu 21 May 2020 05:20 PM
Olympic kayaker Aimee Fisher is bidding for her third Forsyth Barr Hawke’s Bay Sportsperson of the Year title in five years.
Fisher is a finalist alongside All Black Brad Weber, national ski Slalom and Giant Slalom champion Piera Hudson and 275 cap Black Stick, Shea McAleese in the Hawke’s Bay Today Senior Sportsperson of the Year category.
Five judges from across the sporting and sports media fields, have narrowed 97 nominations down to 51 finalists across 14 categories.
The winners of the Disabled, Master, Junior and Senior Sportsperson and Junior and Senior Team of the Year all go forward as finalists for the supreme award, the Forsyth Barr Hawke’s Bay Sportsperson of the Year.
Sport Hawke’s Bay General Manager Commercial, Ryan Hambleton said, this year’s awards are very different to previous years as they will be held online, but the sport sector has really got in behind the awards and a larger viewing audience is anticipated.
“We’ve once again got some outstanding finalists.”
“Everything has changed for us this year with the judging and awards function all being online. The sector has faced some hurdles over the past couple of months but that didn’t stop some outstanding nominations, and we have 20 sports represented spread across 51 finalists.”
“This year looks to be another great opportunity to celebrate all that is great about sport,” he said.
“We also say thanks to the sponsors who have continued to support the sport sector and the awards through this difficult time. Without their support events such as this simply wouldn’t happen”
Rugby union, hockey and netball have the highest nominations for the 2020 event following a great year across junior and senior programmes within each organisation.
The hotly contested Junior Sportsperson of the Year sees two exciting Black Sticks players, Kaitlin Cotter and Olivia Shannon compete against champion athlete Georgia Hulls and Charlotte Lancaster, a pivotal member of the New Zealand Under 17 Football team. The four young female sports stars head off a strong list of nominees and continues to show the strength of youth sport across Hawke’s Bay.
Four volunteers will be recognised for their lifetime contribution to sport with a combined 110 years of service to Hawke’s Bay sport from Alan Blewett (Hockey), Alani Samia (Volleyball), David Black (Cricket) and Graeme Ward (Surf Lifesaving).
The Hall of Fame and Sportsperson of the Decade for 2010 – 2019 will be announced at a later date, set to be announced.
For the first time in the history of the awards, the event will be held online via the Sport Hawke’s Bay Facebook and YouTube pages due to the restrictions as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic. For a link visit list of Administratorof the YearCarl Larsen (Mountain Biking)Chris McIvor (Basketball)Kelly Hepburn (Canoe Polo)Tina Arlidge (Netball)Vidal Coach of the YearBen Bennett (Kayak Racing)Bill Robertson and Stu James (Football)Charissa Barham (Netball)Tafai Ioasa and Karl Lowe (Rugby Union)Paladin Disabled Sportsperson of the YearGuy Harrison (Athletics, Badminton, Golf)Hamish Gilbert (Special Olympics)Zeelandt Brewery Grassroots Club of the YearHawke’s Bay Kayak ClubOutkast SportsTaradale Rugby and SportsTe Rau Oranga o Ngati Kahungungu Waka AmaNgāti Kahungunu Iwi Inc. Impact on Māori SportAnaru Bartlett (Touch Rugby)Jackson Waerea (Rugby Union)Outkast SportsRoni Nuku (Waka Ama)Three Wise Birds Innovation in SportBasketball Ignite (Basketball)Hawke’s Bay Mountain Bike ClubMales in Netball (Netball)YOU, Youth Umpiring Programme (Hockey)Eastern Institute of Technology Junior Sportsperson of the YearCharlotte Lancaster (Football)Georgia Hulls (Athletics)Kaitlin Cotter (Hockey)Olivia Shannon (Hockey)Stirling Sports Junior Sports Team of the YearHastings Boys’ High School 1st XV (Rugby Union)Jack Wilkinson and Daniel Brown (Kayak Racing)Lindisfarne 1st XI (Cricket)Napier Girls’ High School Senior A (Netball)Glenn Cook Technologies Lifetime Contribution to SportAlan Blewett (Hockey)Alani Samia (Volleyball)David Black (Cricket)Graeme Ward (Surf Lifesaving)Kennedy Park Resort Napier Masters Sportsperson of the YearJane Wyllie (Tennis)Michael O’Leary (Athletics)Brebner Print Official of the YearDan Waenga (Rugby Union)Jessica Scott (Netball)Lee Erskine (Hockey)Hawke’s Bay Today Senior Sportsperson of the YearAimee Fisher (Kayak)Brad Weber (Rugby Union)Piera Hudson (Alpine Ski Racing)Shea McAleese (Hockey)Tremains Senior Sports Team of the YearHawke’s Bay Hawkeyes (Speedway)Napier Technical Old Boys (Cricket)Taylor Hawks (Basketball)Thirsty Whale Napier City Rovers (Football)Nimon & Sons Sport Organisation of the YearBasketball Hawke’s BayCanoe Polo Hawke’s BayHawke’s Bay HockeyHawke’s Bay Netball

Next in Lifestyle

Emerald Fenenell's 'Promising Young Woman'
By: howard davis
Jill Trevelyan's 'Rita Angus, An Artist's Life'
By: Howard Davis
The Back of the Painting
By: howard davis
Black Panthers on the Prowl
By: Howard Davis
Controlling the High Ground
By: Howard Davis
Dryzabone - Robert Conolly's 'The Dry'
By: Howard Davis
Hit The Road, Jack - Chloé Zhao's 'Nomadland'
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media