HETTANZ Fashion Awards 2019

Published: Mon 14 Oct 2019 02:17 PM
Home Economics and Technology Teachers Association of New Zealand
14th October 2019
This year the HETTANZ Fashion Awards returned for their eighth year. The awards, proudly supported by Bernina were open to all students from member schools working in materials technology, fashion technology, clothing and textiles. The competition aims to encourage excellence in technical construction skills along with recognition for individuality and creativity. There were a range of categories available for Intermediate, Junior and Senior students. These awards celebrate the enormous talent that our students bring to the world of fashion and garment construction.
Entries were received from all over New Zealand and our judges were very impressed with the high standard of work produced. “At a time when climate change and fast fashion are hot topic issues, it is great to see students incorporating sustainable design decisions in their entries and showing a passion for, and an understanding of all that goes into the creation of such amazing outfits and textile outcomes”. Anna Hix from Bernina said, “It was so inspiring to see such innovative designs and high-quality sewing from all age levels at this year’s fashion awards.”
“The (HETTANZ) Fashion Awards are a key event in the fashion competition calendar each year. It is a wonderful opportunity for all students to demonstrate their skills and creativity.” says HETTANZ president, Sharyn Macpherson.
Congratulations to the following successful students and a big thank you to all the teachers and Whanau for their support. Prizes for Highly Commended awards will be posted, and First Place winners will be contacted by Bernina.
The Winners are as follows - HETTANZ Fashion Awards 2019:
Junior: Open (Years 7 - 8)
First Place: Heidi Cranshaw, Cambridge Middle School
Highly Commended: Tegan O’Dwyer, Cambridge Middle School
Junior: Creative (Years 9 - 10)
First Place: Arya Chunilal, Diocesan School for Girls
Highly Commended: Elizabeth Peters, Diocesan School for Girls
Junior: Technical (Years 9 - 10)
First Place: Jetta Burton-Brown, Palmerston North Girls’ High School
Highly Commended: Emma Herrick, Diocesan School for Girls
Highly Commended: Abi Higgins, Diocesan School for Girls
Senior: Creative (Years 11 - 13)
First Place: Jesse Ewing-Jarvie, Onslow College
Highly Commended: Ruhith Pathirana, Mount Maunganui College
Highly Commended: Frankie Alexander Kemble, Napier Girls’ High School
Senior: Technical (Years 11 - 13)
First Place: Isabella Jackson, Hillcrest High School
Highly Commended: Lindsay Wight Johns, Onslow College
Senior: Cultural Identity (Years 11 - 13)
First Place: Amelia Brash, Bayfield High School

Next in Lifestyle

NZ Fringe 2020 has launched
By: New Zealand Fringe Festival
Three Stocking Stuffers from Te Papa Press
By: Howard Davis
Prime Minster Delivers Erebus Apology
By: New Zealand Government
Margaret Atwood announces three NZ tour dates
By: Fane
Auckland Fringe Announces New Festival Director
By: Auckland Fringe
2019 NZ Comedy Guild Awards handed out
By: New Zealand Comedy Guild
Private ceremony marks Erebus 40 years on
Seymour commends PM on Erebus apology
By: ACT New Zealand
Speech by NZ Airline Association President on Mt Erebus
By: New Zealand Airline Pilots' Association
EREBUS Civic Service for 40th anniverary
By: Erebus National Memorial
Mt Erebus disaster: The Police story - Police Museum
By: New Zealand Police
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media