Winners of the 2018 Edinburgh Comedy Award announced

Published: Sun 26 Aug 2018 11:32 AM
Winners of the 2018 Edinburgh Comedy Award announced
Winners of the 2018 Edinburgh Comedy Awards were announced today at a ceremony at the Dovecot Studios, Edinburgh. The Awards were presented by 1992 Winner Steve Coogan and 2017 Best Comedy Show joint winner John Robins
Today Nica Burns, Director of the Edinburgh Comedy Awards announced the names of the winners of the 2018 Edinburgh Comedy Awards. The prize money for Best Comedy Show is £10,000 with £5,000 each for the Best Newcomer and the Panel Prize winner.
The nominees for Best Comedy Show:
Ahir Shah: Duffer
Alex Edelman: Just For Us
Felicity Ward: Busting a Nut
Glenn Moore: Glenn Glenn Glenn, How Do You Like It, How Do You Like It
Kieran Hodgson:’75
Larry Dean: Bampot
Rose Matafeo: Horndog
The winner of the Award for Best Comedy Show is Rose Matafeo: Horndog
Nica Burns said: New Zealander Rose Matafeo, the fizzing charismatic 26 year old voice of Millennials triumphs in a nail-bitingly close year. Funny and sassy she riffs about love, adolescence and social media obsession to a pop culture soundtrack. An utterly joyful adrenalin high.
The nominees for Best Newcomer are:
Ciarán Dowd: Don Rodolfo
Maisie Adam:Vague
Olga Koch: Fight
Sara Barron: For Worse
Sarah Keyworth: Dark Horse
Sindhu Vee: Sandhog
The winner of the award for Best Newcomer is Ciarán Dowd: Don Rodolfo
Nica Burns says: An utterly original show, a totally hilarious spoof with a completely unexpected ending. Beautifully written, perfectly performed with the stylish wit of an outstanding comedy performer that is Ciarán Dowd. A star in the making.
The Panel Prize goes to Angela Barnes, Sameena Zehra, Pauline Eyre and the Home Safe Collective. An idea catching the spirit of the Fringe, this initiative was started following the brutal murder of Eurydice Dixon, a Melbourne comic who was attacked on her way home from a gig. For the Edinburgh Fringe donations were used to set up account with CityCabs in Edinburgh, whose drivers are police checked. The Panel Prize of £5,000 will be donated to the Home Safe campaign to be used for next year’s Fringe.
The winners and nominees can be seen at the Edinburgh Comedy Awards Gala Show on Sunday 26th August at 16.30 at Pleasance at EICC.
The panel, chaired by Stephen Armstrong – Comedy Critic, Sunday Times, consisted of seven professionals and three comedy punters representing the public.
Gayle Anderson – Arts Writer and Herald Comedy Critic
Jane Dempsey - Public Panellist
Joe Gardner - Public Panellist
Morwenna Gordon - Commissioning Editor, Sky Comedy
Richard Morris – Producer, BBC Studios Comedy
Sarah Asante - Assistant Commissioner, BBC Comedy
Saurabh Kakkar –Executive Producer (Comedy), Big Talk Productions
Tashi Radha - Public Panellist
Tristram Fane Saunders – Commissioning Editor/Culture Writer, The Telegraph

Next in Lifestyle

Charlotte Yates' 'Mansfield' Project
By: Howard Davis
Dazed & Confused by 'Beats'
By: Howard Davis
And The Oscar Goes To … 'Parasite'
By: Howard Davis
1917's 1,000 Yard Stare
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILEWe're in BETA! Send Feedback © Scoop Media