Sport Hawke’s Bay Announces 2018 Sports Awards Finalists

Published: Sat 21 Apr 2018 01:10 PM
April 21, 2018
Sport Hawke’s Bay Announces 2018 Hawke’s Bay Sports Awards Finalists
The largest range of sports are represented in the annual Hawke’s Bay Sports Awards, with nominations put forward from 32 different sports.
Six judges, experts in their sporting and sports media fields, have narrowed the record number of nominations down to 53 finalists across 14 categories.
The 2018 winners will be announced at the awards ceremony held on Saturday 26 May at Pettigrew.Green Arena in Taradale. The winners of the Disabled, Master, Junior and Senior Sportsperson and Junior and Senior Team of the Year all go forward as finalists for the supreme award, the NZME Hawke’s Bay Sportsperson of the Year.
Sport Hawke’s Bay commercial manager Ryan Hambleton said, “With a record number of nominations put forward representing 33 different sports, the judges have had a hard task of deciding the category winners for this year’s Sports Awards.”
“The quality of nominations continues to increase and with 25 sports represented across the categories, this year looks to be another great opportunity to celebrate all that is great about sport,” he said.
Terry Parkin, long-time judge says “every year it gets harder and harder to decide on who will win each category. This year in particular we were all really impressed with the quality of the nominations in the junior category. We have had young athletes performing in senior competitions and winning them while some of our top sportspeople are representing New Zealand at their pinnacle events for their chosen sport. It’s not an easy task and shows the great depth of talent we have here in the Hawke’s Bay region.”
“We want to thank everyone that took the time to complete a nomination, the quality of nominations we received was outstanding. It’s great to see so many from the Hawke’s Bay community taking this opportunity to recognise and celebrate successes in their sport, and acknowledge those who work so hard to make sport happen,” adds Mr Hambleton.
Waka Ama, Rugby Union, Athletics and Basketball had the highest nominations for the 2018 event and follows a successful year from a range of areas within each organisation.
2018 will also see another two accomplished individuals inducted into the Hawke’s Bay Sports Hall of Fame. Following the evening, the Hall of Fame inductees will have their picture and plaques unveiled in their honour at the Pettigrew.Green Arena.
Sport Hawke’s Bay has also announced that following a successful event last year, Radio Sport breakfast hosts Nathan Rarere and Mark Peard will act as co-hosts for the evening.
Tickets for the awards are highly sought after and can be purchased through Sport Hawke’s Bay by visiting or visiting the Sport Hawke’s Bay office atPettigrew.Green Arena.
For a full list of finalists, please see below Administrator of the YearIvan Aplin (Cycling)Sarah Shand (Tennis)Andrea Cullen (Hockey)Mike Bond (Triathlon)
Vidal Coach of the YearTafai Ioasa (Rugby Union)Charissa Barham (Netball)Paul Henare (Basketball) Heinrich Malan (Cricket)
Paladin Disabled Sportsperson of the Year Kate McKelvie (Swimming)Guy Harrison (Athletics)Peter Cowan (Waka Ama)
Zeelandt Brewery Grassroots Club of the YearGreendale Tennis Club (Tennis)Omni Gymnastics Centre (Gymnastics)All in Netball Touch Club (Netball/Touch)Napier Old Boys Marist Rugby Football Club (Rugby)
Ngāti Kahungunu Iwi Inc. Impact on Māori SportJulie Tangaere (Waka Ama)Ihaka Waerea (Rugby League)Jon Matthews (Waka Ama, Ki-o-Rahi, Rugby)Ngāti Kahungunu Māori Basketball
Three Wise Birds Innovation in SportHawke’s Bay Mountain Bike Club (Mountain Bike)Bay City Roller Derby (Roller Derby)Nimon Court in the Bay Netball Festival (Netball)Central Football (Football)
Eastern Institute of Technology Junior Sportsperson of the YearTiaan Falcon (Rugby)Kimiora Poi (Netball)Nick Palmer (Athletics)Regan Gough (Cycling)
Youthtown Junior Sports Team of the YearHastings Boys’ High School 1st XVNo. 13 Squadron Air Training Corps Shooting TeamHawke’s Bay Under 15 Boys Basketball Team
Spark Digital Lifetime Contribution to SportJudy Sutherland (Netball)Thomas Makea Snr (Softball)
Kennedy Park Resort Masters Sportsperson of the YearAnne Cairns (Waka Ama)Stuart Duff (Golf)Ben Bennett (Canoe Sprints)Roni Nuku (Waka Ama)
Brebner Print Official of the YearGail Hussey (Triathlon) Joanna Burns (Synchronised Swimming)Fran Rose (Freediving)Tipene Cottrell (Rugby Union)
Hawke’s Bay Today Senior Sportsperson of the YearAimee Fisher (Canoe Sprints)Tohu Harris (Rugby League)Shae McAleese (Hockey)Rowland Smith (Canoe Sprints)Josie Stockill (Basketball)
Tremains Senior Sports Team of the YearHawke’s Bay Hawkeyes (Speedway)The Central Stags (Cricket)Napier Old Boys Marist RFC Premier Team (Rugby Union)Napier Tech Cricket Club (Cricket)
Nimon & Sons Sport Organisation of the YearTriathlon Hawke’s BayHawke’s Bay Hockey AssociationTennis EasternHawke’s Bay Netball

Next in Lifestyle

'The French Dispatch' - Wes Anderson's 'New Yorker' Tribute
By: Howard Davis
Jill Trevelyan's 'Rita Angus, An Artist's Life'
By: Howard Davis
View as: DESKTOP | MOBILE © Scoop Media